making rhubarb chutney

July 28, 2010 at 11:00 am 15 comments

what you need
450g (1lb) rhubarb, trimmed and sliced
350g (12oz) onions, peeled and sliced
175g (6oz) raisins
775g (1 3/4 lb) light brown sugar
480 ml (16oz) cider vinegar
15 ml (1 tbsp) salt
5 ml (1 tsp) ground cinnamon
5 ml (1 tsp) ground ginger (I used fresh)
2.5 ml (1/2 tsp) ground cloves

  • Put all ingredients into a stainless steel pan and stir over a low heat until the sugar has completely dissolved.  Bring to the boil, simmer, stir frequently for 2 hours or until the chutney has reduced and thickened.
  • Spoon into warmed sterilized jars, seal, label and keep in a cool place for 1 month before using to allow flavours to develop.
  • Makes about 2.25kg (5lb)

Tip: you know about rhubarb leaves being poisonous don’t you?  Always top and tail rhubarb and peel off any tough stringy bits, she said trying not to sound like a nipper teaching granny to suck eggs!  A stainless steel pan is often recommended as the acidity of the rhubarb may react with other metals.

(recipe adapted from Clearly Delicious: an illustrated guide to preserving, pickling and bottling’)

You might also like to try: Rhubarb Relish or green tomato and rhubarb chutney

Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

first harvests love handles

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacqueline  |  July 28, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    That looks amazing. What a great idea. Once I have a few more jars I am going to make some.

    Reply
  • 2. peggy  |  July 28, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Hi Nic, that looks really easy and delicious! We still have loads of rhubarb so this is going to be tried. You have a great harvest even if you did start late, our beetroot is still quite small as it was late going in.
    Congratulations on becoming the proud owner of a wheel barrow!

    Reply
  • 3. nic @ nipitinthebud  |  July 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Jaq – what a shame you don’t live near me, I’d gladly share some jars with you (I’ve had to start saying ‘no thanks’ now to my team of trusty jar collectors!).

    Peggy – thank you. There’s another scrummy recipe for rhubarb and orange chutney and I’m hoping my rhubarb will not be too tough by the time I’m home (in Scotland at the moment). If you’d ike details for that too I can email you the recipe – I think I prefer it as the flavour of the rhubarb comes through more.

    Reply
  • 4. Johanna GGG  |  August 3, 2010 at 2:36 am

    your rhubarb looks gorgeous – we only have scabby old rhubarb in the shops now – but I have bookmarked the chutney

    Reply
  • 5. shoestringalley  |  August 3, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Wow, I’ve never heard of rhubard chutney – it sounds gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 6. peggy  |  August 4, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Hi Nic, I made the chutney! I may have cooked it too high or too long but I got 3 jars. I am not a lover of chutney but this tasted delicious even in its just cooked state so much so that there is a second batch on the cooker now!
    I would love the rhubarb and orange recipe to try but print it on the blog as I am sure others would like it too?!
    Enjoy Scotland fab photos.

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  August 8, 2010 at 8:09 pm

      Hi Peggy, I’ll email you the Rhubarb and Orange recipe as the last time I made it was before I started blogging so no pics for writing a post.
      Let me know how it goes if you manage it before I do.
      N x

      Reply
  • 8. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  August 10, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Oh I’m going to try canning for the first time this week (beets) and this looks so very, very good I think I’ll have to make it too. So what is it best served with?

    Reply
    • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  August 11, 2010 at 11:26 am

      People always say chutneys are good with cold meats but as a veggie I need no excuses for dolloping it on any and everything. I personally love chutney with hot potatoes, cheese and quiche (or anything with pastry!)

      Reply
  • […] months. I have canned beets, beans and cherries (not from allotment) and made this outstanding rhubarb chutney (which I didn’t even preserve, but have just kept in fridge for current use – […]

    Reply
  • 12. Anna  |  December 19, 2011 at 1:38 am

    Thanks for posting this recipe. I made it as part of my Christmas gifts this year. I inherited a large clump of rhubarb when I moved earlier this year and was looking for ways to use it and Christmas presents that fit into my limited budget – this has sorted both 🙂

    Reply
    • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  December 20, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      great, I’m so pleased Anna. Rhubarb is an acquired taste but it creates a lovely texture in chutney. Our plant was prolific this year too and my husband made lots of wine with it for the first time. It looks gorgeous as it keeps the bright pink colour – I’m yet to vouch for the taste though as it has to be racked for 10 months.

      Reply
  • 14. Jean  |  September 8, 2015 at 11:28 am

    Is it too late in the year to use the rhubarb from the garden for chutney, I am afraid to make it only to find it is too old and stringy?

    Reply
    • 15. Nip it in the bud  |  September 8, 2015 at 11:32 am

      Hmmm now that is a very good question. I guess the telling could be in how easy it is to chop? The process of cooking and soaking in the vinegar does a fine job of softening much harder veg than rhubarb but I know from experience that making runner bean chutney with stringy beans was not nice! I think rhubarb would fair better and if really tempted I’d probably just go in for some extra boiling to ensure its super pulpy and not chunks of disappointment! Let me know what you decide.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

