from plot to pan and back again

August 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm 3 comments

We’re having a plot barbie tonight and I’ve spent a happy afternoon boiling, peeling and stirring.  I was quick to bagsy potato salad as my dish of choice to use up some of our many spuds.  The skins of the Red Duke of York potatoes break up easily and the flesh goes mushy making a nice contrast with the firmer yellow flesh of the Vales Emerald potatoes.  The Arran stoneground mustard with elephant garlic, bought on holiday in Scotland, adds a lovely, gentle kick without overpowering the flavour of the potatoes.

Ingredients: allotment grown spuds, 1 red onion chopped, mayonaise, Arran stoneground mustard with elephant garlic

I’m becoming seriously addicted to fresh beetroot.  So much so I can’t contemplate adulterating it with dressing (and this from the girl who loves Sainsburys sweet pickled beetroot so much she sups the vinegar!)
Ingredients: allotment grown beetroot and dwarf french beans

And finally, here’s one I made earlier – preserved runner beans from last summer.  I’m excited about trying these pickled Polestars as I have fridge full of runner beans to use up if they prove their worth!
Ingredients: allotment grown stringless runner beans, white wine vinegar, sugar, black peppercorns, allspice berries

mmm, I wonder what other allotment home cooked delights are in store this evening?

Entry filed under: allotment tales, in the kitchen.

making redcurrant jelly plot barbie

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lucy  |  August 12, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    You’d be proud of me! I did braised Little Gems yesterday, and “Rubbish soup”, with the remains of our roast dinner and the carrots I thinned out! It’s addictive! Particularly with your inspiration 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Tom  |  August 12, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    The potato salad itself would be worth an intercontinental
    trip just to sample. Yum.

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  August 13, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Lucy – I am proud of you :o) All sounds delicious and I know just how fab your veg patch looks this year

    Tom – I’ll be in spuds ’til Christmas so you’ve got until then to get over {wink}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

