happy harvesting

August 21, 2010 at 1:12 pm 12 comments

I can hardly believe it’s over two weeks since we returned home from a tour of friends in the North.  6 families in 2 weeks and 1300 miles clocked up.  More about that another time.   Meanwhile back in the garden everything survived the dry spell and the fridge has been full to bursting ever since.  Quite a different story to last year when we returned to a blight ridden plot.  Oh happy day – I have tomatoes aplenty ripening.

I sampled my first cherry tomatoes last week but not before squealing with delight and shouting ‘look, look‘ to anyone within earshot.  So sweet and oh so juicy.  

But what’s that in the background I hear you ask?  It’s my first produce from a plant given to me by my colleague Julia.  As it arrived at my plot accompanied by a yellow courgette plant I did wonder if the labels on the pots had got muddled up (sorry Julia!).  Not so and this round prickly squash-a-like is in fact a Crystal Lemon cucumber!

A lot can happen in few weeks in the cabbage patch. The cabbage white caterpillars obviously moved in as soon as I left!
The broccolli has fared better if you don’t mind a sprinkling of white fly with your greens

On the fruit front the autumn raspberries are producing vigorously ad brightening up my breakfast.

As you can imagine I’ve been preserving like a woman possessed.  With G away at the weekend I managed to turn the last of the redcurrants into more jelly, sauteed courgettes in oil and tried a couple of new recipes for rhubarb relish and piccalilli.  A very satisfying way to spend a Saturday afternoon when rain stops play in the garden.

Entry filed under: allotment tales, in the kitchen.

pickling runner beans making sauteed courgettes

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Johanna GGG  |  August 21, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    wow a beautiful bounty – you will enjoy the preserved goodies when the harvest is over but how lovely to have so many fresh veg from your own plot now!

    Reply
  • 2. kirsten  |  August 22, 2010 at 1:40 am

    WOW! Incredibly envious! Gorgeous garden!

    Reply
  • 3. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  August 22, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Gorgeous fruit, luscious photos, what happiness to come home too! Would love to know your picallii recipe one day 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Tom  |  August 22, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I’m stunned! What picturesque vegetables and fruit. . . . Now I know where to stop for the night if I ever get back to your country.

    Reply
  • 6. Anne Maundrell  |  August 22, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    I’m so envious of your lovely fresh vegetables and fruit, although actually I’m in England at the moment and enjoying the local produce which makes a big change from what’s available in Brunei.

    Reply
  • 7. Catherine  |  August 22, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Oh wow – this is inspiring! I can’t wait until I get space to grow my own veggies!

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  August 23, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Johanna – best of both worlds for sure. Happy harvesting = happy Nic :o)

    Kirsten – thanks. I bet you’d cook up something delicious if you were here to share my harvest

    Joanna – it’s on my list for posting soon. Would be lovely with some of your crunchy rye bread

    Tom – the dry spell is over and the we’ve had on and off downpours the last week or two. Fingers crossed the big bad blight doesn’t head our way…

    Anne – hope you’re having a top time in the UK with friends and family. Safe journey home x

    Catherine – you’ll be in your element.

    Reply
  • 9. Ann  |  August 23, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Lots of lovely veg harvested Nic. You wouldn’t recognise my cucumbers as cucumbers either, and they were prickly. Once those caterpillars get going you’ve had it haven’t you, I haven’t had one decent cabbage.

    Your relishes etc look delicious.

    Reply
  • 10. carolynk2010  |  August 23, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    What a lovely harvest. What a shame your cabbages split with all the rain! Raspberries look delicious!

    Reply
  • 11. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers  |  August 24, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    That is the maddest looking cucumber I’ve ever seen! What a wonderful harvest.

    I made your rhubarb chutney a couple weeks ago and didn’t even bother preserving it. Hubby liked it so much we are just eating it as is.

    Reply
  • 12. nic @ nipitinthebud  |  August 24, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Ann – they’re stealthy caterpillars this year, I haven’t actually seen any yet! Prickly cucumbers are the way to go I think and I enjoyed eating this one like an apple. Still waiting for my second!

    Carolyn – kind of you to call by ;o) The raspberries are fab this year, although rather soggy at the moment with all the rain.

    Christine – yay, glad you liked it. Did you spot the rhubarb relish above? It’s even better in my opinion and suits my love of all things sour! Will be my next post I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,336 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

