how did you find me?

September 13, 2010 at 1:52 pm 33 comments

Looking at your blog stats provides a fascinating insight into how people stumble upon your blog.  Some of the most popular internet searches that lead people to my door are ‘I love pie’, ‘looking after lavender’,damson jam’ and ‘blue raspberries’; all obvious enough.  Other times the links are truly mystifying.  ‘Iconic Yorkshire landscape’ anyone?  And when have I ever written about parrots?  

Occasionally you discover a fellow blogger has tried out one of your recipes or posted a link to your blog (warm rosy glow moments).  And very occasionally this happens – you find your blog has been added to someone’s ‘Top blogs’ list.  You don’t understand how come but you like it.  A lot.

All this rummaging about in my blog stats has made me increasingly curious about the readers of my blog.
How did you find me dear friends, bloggers and passers-by?

ps. fellow bloggers, I know they say curiosity killed the cat but I’ve never heard of any deaths from nosey-parker-itis so an additional question for you if I may?
What is your most popular blog post?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

making piccalilli hazelnut harvest

33 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel @ Suburban Yogini  |  September 13, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I found you through Catherine at Jumbleberry Orchard (http://jumbleberry-orchard.blogspot.com).

    People find me through the oddest things. Mostly from looking for yoga to help back issues to be honest though.

    My most popular posts is this recent one:-

    http://www.suburbanyogini.com/2010/08/31/public-service-annoucement/

    Reply
  • 2. Choclette  |  September 13, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Nic, you have a lovely blog, so not in the least surprised – I expect you are on a top blog list – lots of them probably. I keep forgetting to look at my stats, so this is a good reminder. Discovered you through MangoCheeks I think – though it was a while ago now, so can’t rightly remember. As for best blog post – way too many brilliant ones to pick any specific and wouldn’t dare if I could.

    Reply
  • 3. nina - tabiboo  |  September 13, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Hi Nic,
    do you know I honestly can’t remember ‘how’ I found you or if you found me first, but it certainly was blog adoration from the start – for me anyhow.
    And from the look of my stats anything with the word ‘crochet’ seems to have come out on top, but I haven’t a clue what my most favourite is – that’s a little bit too technical for me though I’m sure if I looked hard enough I would find it – eventually.
    Nina xxx

    Reply
  • 4. Kellee  |  September 13, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Hi I have been reading your blog for a couple of months , and I probably came through Matrons blog roll , down on the allotment.
    The blogs I like to read usually are about cooking and gardening mostly.

    Reply
  • 5. Peggy  |  September 13, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Hi Nic, I think I found you through some one elses blog roll! Some winter evenings I go through any interesting blogs on a side bar and especially if gardening or crafts are mentioned. i have kept reading because i enjoy your posts and there is always something interesting either cooking or growing!
    I have never went through my stats, I will remember some winter’s evening to pass away the time!
    I have found that since the beginning of the blog that lots of people ‘passed’ through without commenting but over the past months more readers are taking the time to comment.

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  September 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Rachel – you’ve got me thinking now about how I found Catherine. hmm, will need to think about that! You’ve been on quite a journey then with your health and career. Exciting to read about the next stage in your adventure. Happy massaging :o)

    Choclette – what a lovely thought and so kind of you to say. I think your posts are brilliant too but I’m intrigued to know which of your fabulous chocolate posts get the most hits. Are you just a little bit curious too?
    ps. to anyone reading comments go and check out Choclettes blog for everything your chocolate loving heart desires!

    Nina – I found you, from some crochet or knitting related search! I loved the content of your blog (you make the things I only dream about) but also the gorgeous look of your posts and glimpses of the simple everyday delights that family life brings.

    Kellee – hello you, thank you for coming out of the wings to say hello. Lovely to hear you passed by and decided to stay :o) Are you growing your own veg too?

    Peggy – I think it’s Ann’s blog Calico and Cards that we have in common? The stats certainly make interesting reading. I bet you’ll be surprised when you do find that quiet evening or lunch break. Interesting point about comments. I’ve found the opposite to be true over the summer. Double the traffic, half the comments. I understand that though – I’ve been commenting less too as I’ve just got too many interesting blogs in my reader I can’t keep up! Can’t seem to bring myself to cull any though either.

    Reply
  • 7. Stephanie Morimoto  |  September 13, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Hi! I just found you through your comment on Chiot’s Run about how gardening takes patience…in fact, your comment there inspired me to comment. I’ve just begun writing a blog about good food, gardening and locavore living in San Francisco, California in the U.S. Excited to read more about your lovely garden.

    The most popular post in the past week or so has been:
    http://togetherinfood.wordpress.com/2010/09/09/have-you-ever-been-waylaid-by-a-farmer/

    Reply
  • 8. Norm  |  September 14, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Hi Nic,

    I found you by searching for ‘Hedgerow Jelly’ on Google – and then read some more of your blog and discovered that we share a love of Pam Corbin’s amazing ‘Preserves’ book!

    I then realised you’re from Gloucestershire and I’m from Herefordshire (originally) so we’re practically neighbours (well, sort of!)

    Kate

    Reply
  • 9. Claire  |  September 14, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Hi Nic, I ‘found’ you through Freegle.
    A friend of yours, Maureen, gave me loads of black currant cuttings, and after chatting about our gardens, she recomended your blog! As we’re both in Gloucester, I think I left a comment on your blog about some alcofrolic fruity beverage you had made, and you invited me to your allotment, last November, I think.
    I came armed with wild strawberry plants and left with loads of goodies from your allotment!
    I don’t really read many blogs, but I’m just going to check out Choclette’s blog…:-)
    I really enjoy your blog, especially the recipes.
    Happy gardening, Claire

    Reply
  • 10. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  September 14, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I found you through Robinaccio! After much hunting around to get hold of yellow mustard seed, we made some gorgeous Pam the Jam piccalili yesterday, hope it turns out as good as yours 🙂 and am trying out a variation today to give it an indonesian set of flavours today, sort of like ajar kuning (which is a short life fridge pickle) if it works I’ll let you know.

    Top post? I had to go and look, never done that before. One on Wild Cherry Jam followed closely by Blackbery jelly and testing for pectin, then a post about making swedish buns with cardamon…

    Reply
  • 11. kirsten  |  September 14, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I’m pretty sure it was through the no croutons required contest, since I added you about the time i first participated. Either that or going through some of the participants blogrolls I found you. My top post is for DIY kombucha, consistently now for a year. It’s a gorgeous photo, which I’m sure helps to keep them on the page, with detailed instructions. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 12. Everlovin' Dad  |  September 14, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    When your 2 brothers got my computer up and running, you put in your blog on it. That was one afternoon during a Christmas time.
    I’m not sure whether it was before you raided the larder and fridge or after. But then why is it that all parents treat their kids as if they are still hard-up college students?
    Wouldn’t change you for the world dear….money maybe!

    Reply
  • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  September 15, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Stephanie – very nice to see you over here. Being waylaid by Farmer Al sounded fun and those tasty truffles too. Yummy. I’ve not heard the term locavore so my visit to your blog’s been educational too!

    Kate – I was glad to find I was not alone in my Pam the jam adoration! Neighbours across vast oceans now :o)

    Claire – I never did get to write about our berry swap did I. Your picture is on the people page though so perhaps I will do it yet! I confess to having left your wild strawberries in the box over winter and finally planted them out a few months ago. They’ve taken to their new bed quite happily and I got a few teeny tiny berries. How are developments with the hut? I thought of you when we had such a bitterly cold and snowy winter. Hope you had a good raspberry crop from your cuttings.

    Joanna – you’re a better girl than me, I just made do with brown mustard seeds. I like the speckling they provide against the yolky yellow. An indonesian twist sounds promising.
    I can see why your top posts are top – scrummy recipes.

    Dad – yay, you’re back on-line. Fridge raiding, moi {wink}. You never grow out of being a dad. Shall I post an auction for you to see how much someone’s prepared to pay for a vintage Nic. Nah, G would get the money anyway since you kindly gave me away all those years ago in a lovely little church in Cheltenham 😮

    Reply
  • 14. Margaret  |  September 15, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I really don’t know how I found your blog Nic – but I am very pleased that I did because I have learnt a lot from you about fruits, nuts, vegetables and so on. Also, I love your photography. Keep on blogging.

    Reply
    • 15. Nip it in the bud  |  September 15, 2010 at 3:08 pm

      I found you :o) – when you posted your giveaway for porridge oats! Offers of free food are never ignored so I raced over to your blog and left you a comment. I didn’t win but I’ve enjoyed reading your cookery posts ever since. Your baked goods in particular are so good I don’t even feel the need to make them – I’m satiated just looking!

      Reply
  • 16. Marina  |  September 15, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I can’t remember how I found you but your blog has become my most favorite one. Whenever I have too many stressful things happening in my life I like to read your posts and it does relax me. I feel as if I am there in your garden. I also love your photos, they are so good!!!
    Thank you.

    Reply
    • 17. Nip it in the bud  |  September 15, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      Hi Marina, what a lovely surprise it has been to read your comment. I’m so glad you enjoy reading my blog as much as I enjoy writing it. A little time spent in the garden (in real life or on-line) is certainly good for the heart.
      take care – here’s to a future filled with relaxing times and fewer stressful things

      Reply
  • 18. Marlene Moleon  |  September 15, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    I found you at a Forum about widgets. I tried to put one from Widgetbox. Odd? Well, you never know how people find you.
    But I would like to said: Beatiful, Beautiful blog and photos!!!!

    Reply
    • 19. Nip it in the bud  |  September 16, 2010 at 8:34 am

      There are some great widgets available on-line but sadly WP doesn’t allow javascript widgets which is why you’ve not be able to add one from Widgetbox.
      Thanks for coming over to say hello and leaving such a nice comment. I like the look of your digital publishing house. Shame I don’t speak Spanish though!

      Reply
  • 20. mangocheeks  |  September 16, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Isn’t it so interesting how people found you Nic.

    I was thinking about how ‘we met’ and I don’t know if you found me or if it was the other way round. but whoever it was – it was good all round. I think we’ve grown a lot together in the blog world.

    Warm wishes as always x

    Reply
  • 21. Nip it in the bud  |  September 16, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I found you soon after I started blogging. I asked you about how to insert a vitamin wheel like yours into my sidebar (not possible in WP). For a while you were my only commenter I think so you have a special place in this blogs heart x
    I have you to thank for some of my readers too who found me from links on A2K

    Reply
  • 22. shoestringalley  |  September 16, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I can’t remember how I found you – did you find me first or the other way around?! Still love your blog anyway! I think one of my most popular posts was also a recipe (runner bean chutney).

    Reply
    • 23. Nip it in the bud  |  September 22, 2010 at 3:55 pm

      I found you I think – one of your posts about soup?
      Runner bean gluts, sigh, we’ve all got’ em!

      Reply
  • 24. mangocheeks  |  September 18, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    Nic,
    The feeling is mutual. Some fellow bloggers have come and left, you remain a constant in my blog world and for that I too am Thankful for you X

    Reply
  • 25. Trine  |  September 28, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I ordered in from my store a pumpkin so I could try to make puree and put in my cakes and pies. I got a big green and yellow thing I did not know what to do with..
    After two days criss crossing all google and internet I found it in your blog of august 2009 giant marrow.
    WOW… I still dont know if I can bake it in the owen and make puree to freeze, but at least I know what thing that is that takes up all space in my kitchen 🙂
    wonderfull blog 🙂 I’ll be back !

    Reply
    • 26. Nip it in the bud  |  September 28, 2010 at 5:42 pm

      heisann Trine ;o)
      If you have a giant marrow you’ll have more than enough to try out several recipes! If it’s too big to bake in the oven you could cut it into rings and fill the middles.
      See you again …
      (your trip out with our 6 friend looked like fun!)

      Reply
  • 27. Liz Woolford  |  September 30, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Brilliant web site. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 28. ellis  |  October 10, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Great blog, I have an alottment and love the mix of cooking and gardening.

    Reply
  • 29. Nip it in the bud  |  October 11, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Thanks Liz. Always nice to read new names in my comment box. Do call again :o)

    Ellis – thanks for your kind comments. Where is your allotment?
    I find growing your own food is the greatest inspiration for cooking.

    Reply
  • 30. reapwhatyougrow  |  October 15, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Really interesting to see how the online world of blogs works! I think I found you one day when I was browsing other allotment blogs. The clothkits you made was the clincher, because I had bought the same one. And I am ashamed to say that although that must be two years ago, I still haven’t finished mine. Maybe I’ll do it today??

    M

    Reply
    • 31. Nip it in the bud  |  October 16, 2010 at 10:42 am

      did you finish it???
      I came across your blog searching for lavender and was intrigued to discover your allotment was down the road from where my in-laws live. And then, purely by chance, we met one sunny sunday afternoon….

      Reply
  • 32. kate  |  November 8, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Hi Nic, found your blog while looking for hawthorn recipes (I think?!) Really love coming back and reading what you’ve been up to and we’ve added you to our blog roll so I can find you even easier than before lol!
    It’s at http://catbirdcraft.blogspot.com if you want to check it out 🙂

    Reply
  • 33. Nip it in the bud  |  November 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Hi Kate, thanks for introducing yourself (and Frank!)
    fab catbird creations :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,702 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

