under the weather

November 4, 2010 at 1:02 pm 14 comments

This week I ‘ave been mostly… coughing.

If you were a fan of the Fast Show in the 90’s you’ll recognise the nod to Jesse’s diets.  If not you might be wondering why I sound like a yokel and what coughing has to do with gardening or cooking.  Well nothing really apart from killing any motivation and energy for both dead.  If this post were a true homage to Jesse’s diets of course it would read ‘This week I ‘ave been mostly eating… ginger’.  Or witches brew as G calls my fiery version of ginger tea with a twist of black pepper.

My constant coughing this week reminded me of another Fast Show character Bob Fleming, the genial presenter of Country Matters with a hacking cough.  Laughter is good medicine when you’re feeling under the weather but it’s also a great cough creator so have your medicine at the ready if you’re suffering too

Entry filed under: home life.

using up black bananas again bonfire night

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nina - tabiboo  |  November 4, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Oh no, that’s not good – I hope the ginger works. Though I’m with G – ginger on it’s own in fiery enough for me let alone adding black pepper….phew!

    take care and get well soon,

    Nina xxx

    Reply
  • 2. Jacqueline  |  November 4, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Awww, poor soul. Hope you are feeling better soon.

    Reply
  • 3. mangocheeks  |  November 4, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    OOoh I’ve been sniffling.

    Sadly that time of year. Hope you feel better soon and it does not develop further.x

    Reply
  • 4. Mark Willis  |  November 4, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    My own particular cough / cold remedy involves, hot water, fresh lemon juice, a spoonful of honey — and a large slug of whisky. It works wonders!
    BTW – I definitely do remember Jesse’s Diets and Bob Fleming. Do you remember “This week I have mostly been eating Taramosalata”?

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  November 4, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    Nina – the ginger’s definitely been helping but this season’s germs seem to be particularly good for barking coughs. Feeling better than earlier in the week thanks

    Jac – cheers lovely, am thank you

    MC – it’s the end of a week’s worth of cold. Mine started with sneezing so hope you’re sniffling doesn’t develop.

    Mark – I’m not a fan of whiskey but can see how the heat could help a cough (or start me off on a mega fit ;o)
    I loved the Fast Show and remember all the wonderful characters and catch phrases. My favourites were ‘Brilliant’ (and his dad ‘Rubbish’), ‘I’ll get me coat’, ‘You aint seen me, right’ and ‘I was very, very drunk’. You know exactly who I mean don’t you :o)

    Reply
  • 6. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  November 5, 2010 at 12:43 am

    Hope you feel better soon. Ginger is excellent as you know, lemon verbena quite soothing without being too acidic, limeflowers make a nice tea with honey if you want to ring the changes on your drinks 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Tom  |  November 5, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Sorry about your cough, mate! I got my flu shot last week and I’m feeling fit.

    Reply
  • 8. Peggy  |  November 5, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I hope you are on the road to recovery now, I have just had a chest infection and it is taking ages to clear completely. Take care and look after yourself,even spoil yourself!

    Reply
  • 9. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  November 5, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Meant to tell you that I got to see the sculpture in the Cathedral that you wrote about! And the cathedral too, which, despite visiting Gloucester every six weeks I had never noticed, tucked away as it is – so thanks for blogging about it – I like the outside ones best and the head on the plinth inside 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  November 6, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Joanna – I love all sorts of herbal drinks but the best are definitely the home grown dried versions. Where do you get your limeflowers from?
    Glad you enjoyed the exhibition – the head on the plinth was just amazing, so life like. I liked the water feature and the veiled woman and strangely the 2 skeleton related pieces.

    Tom – fit as a fiddle, that’s what I like to hear. I’m about 90% fiddle, nearly there :o)

    Peggy – poor you with your chest infection. On the mend now though I hope. When I’ve not been eating curry cooked by the lovely G I’ve been spoiling myself with easy ‘pop it in the oven’ tea. Beginning to feel like I want to cook now so must be feeling better :o)

    Reply
  • 11. Bilbo  |  November 22, 2010 at 7:38 am

    Am terribly behind and have lots of blog catching up to do. Hope you are better now :}>

    Reply
  • 12. Bilbo  |  November 22, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Am terribly behind and have lots of blog catching up to do. Hope you are better now :}

    Reply
  • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  November 22, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    much better thanks

    Reply
  • 14. Apple and chilli flakes jelly jam Quick Easy Food Recipes  |  October 25, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    […] with my jar of Apple and chilli jelly, an idea planted in my head by fellow blogger friend Nic of Nip it in the Bud. She suggested using some of the jellies to make hot drinks to chase away the stinky sniffly cold. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,834 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

