haw berries, crab apples and rosehips

November 17, 2010 at 3:37 pm 11 comments

This time last year if you found your way to my home page you’d have read about making saucy haw ketchup.  A complete coincidence that I chose today to make this year’s batch having picked my haws at the allotment a month ago.  George puts up with so much sharing the house with a foraging nut. Barely an eyelash is batted these days when a new pile of something appears on the kitchen table.

Monday was crab apples to make more of these

Tuesday was rosehips to make syrup

‘foraging on your lunch break again?‘ was all G asked when he got in from work.  Who’d have thought such delights were to be found on a business park in the city!

Wednesday is a kitchen filled with vinegary fumes and soon-to be jars of loveliness cooling on the table.
Place your bets for G’s first words when he gets home later?

Entry filed under: away from the plot, in the kitchen.

Christmas come early stirring up old recipes

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nina - tabiboo  |  November 17, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Mr Boo made saucy haw last year and loved it though I think he’s let the season go by this year – ho hum, there is always next year.

    Enjoy,

    Nina xxx

    Reply
  • 2. Mark Willis  |  November 17, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    The true “Nature’s Harvest” eh? Do you have a copy of Richard Mabey’s book “Food for Free”? It was a book that influenced me a lot in my earlier years, and stil very relevant today.

    Reply
  • 3. Cheryl  |  November 17, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    These sound so tasty! I don’t have haw berries around here, but we did just get some cranberries, so I may have to substitute those & try out your recipe!

    Reply
  • 4. Maureen  |  November 18, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    wonderful Nic
    and do you know where the mulberry tree is? for next year (if it is still there)

    Reply
  • 5. kirsten  |  November 19, 2010 at 4:36 am

    fresh rosehips! I’m so jealous! Can’t wait to see your concoctions!

    Reply
  • 6. Norm  |  November 19, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Ooh, now I’m really missing England… This time last year I was foraging for rosehips, haws and crab apples to make Hedgerow Jelly (which is when I discovered your blog I think!). Now I’m wearing shorts as it’s 30+ degrees every day and the leaves are green all year… I’m too scared to forage in Brunei – too many biting and poisonous things around!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  November 19, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Nina – there’s still plenty around here. Worth a family Boo stroll out at the weekend?

    Mark – I have that book too – very handy pocket size. I recently bought the latest River Cottage Handbook: Hedgerows which is fab. Definite one for the Christmas wish list if you like foraging.

    Cheryl – cranberries, lucky you. They’d make a really good fruit leather I reckon. Or preserved whole in syrup for decorating puddings?

    Maureen – ooh, no I don’t. I’ll email you for top secret directions!

    Kirsten – rosehip syrup was given to all children daily during the war so I thought I’d try a wartime recipe

    Norm – missing the produce but not the weather! I complain as much as the next person when it’s cold and wet but there is something quite special about the changeable seasons we have in Britain. I envy your shorts weather right now as I sit here in two jumpers!

    Reply
  • 8. Papa G  |  November 19, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    I can almost smell it from here Nic.
    They say that the best things in life are free and you are one person that makes it work

    Reply
  • 9. Ann  |  November 20, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Wonderful haul from your foraging Nic. It never occurs to me to do this, I saw some crab apples that had fallen off a tree at the side of a main road this week when we were on our way to Scotland and then again from another tree on the way back.

    Reply
  • 10. Nic  |  November 20, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Great finds, love what you do with them too. I wouldn’t know where to start.

    Reply
  • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  November 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Papa G – will keep a jar for you to try. Just as well we enjoy all the free stuff being like church mice and all!

    Ann – I think different varieties drop at different times. These teeny ornamental ones are well and truly hanging on to the branches even though all the leaves have dropped

    Nic – when in doubt, turn to Pam the Jam’s River Cottage Handbook!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,702 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

