making raspberry vinegar

December 16, 2010 at 9:00 am 19 comments

Picking raspberries is best done on a dry day.  We didn’t have many of those in August and I lost a couple of pickings because they started to grow mould in the fridge much faster than I anticipated.  I’m not much of a jam eater or cake maker and with no room in the freezer to delay decision making I opted for a savoury option:  ruby red raspberry vinegar.

I’m a great fan of sour tastes and really love this.  It’s fab for creating a fruity tangy salad dressing or as a simple dip with olive oil for fresh crusty bread.  I’ve added it to my ‘favourites‘ list for home-made culinary gifts.  And did I say just how easy it is to make?  The hardest part is not dipping your finger in for a taste every time you lift the lid to give it a stir!

I turned to my favourite River Cottage Preserves Handbook for a raspberry vinegar recipe and began with Pam’s quantities of 100g raspberries to 60ml vinegar.  When it came to adding the sugar though I was quite shocked by the 75g sugar per 100ml fruit vinegar ratio.  I wanted a little balsamic-like sweetness to offset the sharpness of the vinegar but opted for a much lower sugar content (more like 10g sugar to 100ml fruit vinegar).
To make raspberry vinegar

  • Crush the raspberries.
  • Pour on white wine or cider vinegar (60ml per 100g fruit).
  • Cover and leave to steep for 5 days stirring occasionally.
  • Strain off the liquid through a jelly bag or piece of muslin suspended over a bowl.
  • Measure liquid and pour into a saucepan.  Add sugar according to taste.
  • Bring gently to the boil stirring gently until the sugar dissolves.
  • Boil for 8-10 minutes removing any scum as it rises.
  • Remove from heat and leave to cool.  Bottle when cold.  Use within 12 months.
  • Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

    five ways with … a ton of beetroot making chocolate mince pies

    19 Comments Add your own

    • 1. nina - tabiboo  |  December 16, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      This is something Mr Boo would love to make though it will have to be next year now.

      Nina xxx

      Reply
    • 2. Fiona Mayhem  |  December 16, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      Ah, lovely fruit vinegars!

      This year I made blackberry, using a similar method. I have found in the past that you can use MUCH less sugar than in the River Cottage book.

      Unfortunately, we had a house guest that spilled my precious vinegar over the wooden floor in my kitchen, during the time it was steeping, and then thought dabbing at it with a tea towel would be sufficient to clear it up. So, now I have purple tea towels and an interesting piece of floor art, but no blackberry vinegar. 😦

      Hope this is delicious, and that you post about salad dressings and recipes using it, so that I may at least look at photos of fruit vinegar in use!
      *Sigh*

      Reply
    • 3. Everlovin' Dad  |  December 16, 2010 at 2:34 pm

      Don’t know how I missed your “wedding day photo” blog but I’ve just seen it. A very good day, Your mum will appreciate your comments about her cooking capabilities. As for your raspberry
      vinegar, I know you have your odd days, dear, but that sounds cruelty to the raspberries. As for your beetroot nuffins, I don’t see them in the shops yet! If you have a few beetroots spare, your mum would like a few next time you see her. I’ll close now
      because it is snowing all over your blog

      Reply
    • 4. Denise Nesbitt  |  December 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      Sounds good! I too gasp when I see the quanitities of sugar in recipes – not good for the waistline! lol!

      Reply
    • 5. Nic  |  December 16, 2010 at 9:48 pm

      I made some once, but it didn’t look as good as yours. I really like the colour, bet it tastes great!

      Reply
    • 6. anenthusiast  |  December 16, 2010 at 10:23 pm

      Oh my gosh, yummers… must try this.

      Reply
    • 7. Norm  |  December 17, 2010 at 2:31 am

      Guess what? I’ve made this too! Pam-Corbin-lovers of the blog-world unite. I made it as part of my parents’ Ruby Wedding present hamper a couple of years ago. Mum said it was great drizzled over fish and chips!

      BTW, you have SNOW on your blog…!!?!! How amazingly cool. I want it too. Is it a WordPress thing?

      Reply
    • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  December 17, 2010 at 2:44 pm

      NIna – he’ll not be disappointed. I have some raspberries in the freezer to feed my addiction when this batch runs out!

      Fiona – what a calamity and a purple stain is a sad reminder of what could have been. Thanks for sharing though – I shall definitely try other fruits next year.

      Dad – the last of the beets are well and truly frozen in the ground so mum will have to wait for the 2011 harvest. I certainly don’t get my love of pickles from you do I ;o

      Denise – I rarely stick to a recipe 100% – if it’s not changing quantities it’s substituting missing ingredients!

      Nic – it does indeed and so simple

      anenthusiast – yummers for sure

      Norm – it certainly brightens up the plate.
      ‘fraid the snow is a WP thing. It’s ace isn’t it.
      The only negative comment I’ve ever had about my blog was the snow (distracting apparently) – bah humbug I say to that – let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

      Reply
    • 9. Peggy  |  December 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm

      Hi Nic, another unusual recipe from you, I read down your beet post and will come back to it next year for inspiration.Snow on the blog is only a Worpress app: it seems those of us on Blogger cant have it!

      Reply
    • 10. mangocheeks  |  December 18, 2010 at 5:56 pm

      I had the same problem when I was picking fresh raspberries, they don’t keep long unfortunately and freezer space is limited.

      Anyway, I have been wanting to try raspberry vinegar for a while and thanks to you, will make some of my own now. Just a question, do you think it would work with frozen raspberries?

      Reply
    • 11. Bilbo  |  December 18, 2010 at 9:57 pm

      Raspberries never last long enough here to get made into anything!

      Reply
    • 12. Growing Vegetables  |  December 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      What a great idea for those raspberries that aren’t quite up for eating!

      Reply
    • 13. Andy  |  December 19, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      My Grandmother used to make Raspberry Vinigar and amongst other uses, she gave it to us as a cold cure, and it worked! Was she alone in this? or has anybody else heard of similar?

      Reply
    • 14. Nip it in the bud  |  December 21, 2010 at 7:33 pm

      Peggy – glad the suggestions appeal 😮

      MC – I intend to make more with frozen raspberries. I think I’ll defrost them and drain off the melted water, then mash them and add vinegar.

      Bilbo – I can believe that what with your talent for making delicious scones to go with them

      Growin veg – well I can’t bear anything going to waste

      Andy – I’ve not heard of raspberry vinegar specifically as a cold cure but since vinegar has many wonderful uses I can believe it. Do you still keep up the practice?

      Reply
    • 15. Ann  |  December 21, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      Looks delicious, though I would have to use the full amount of sugar! The colour of the crushed raspberries made me think of summer in the veg plot, the world seems very monochrome at the moment.

      Reply
      • 16. Nip it in the bud  |  January 1, 2011 at 7:48 pm

        sigh, how I look forward to picking summer berries again ;o)

        Reply
    • 17. mangocheeks  |  December 23, 2010 at 4:33 pm

      Thanks Nic.

      Reply
    • 18. Will  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      Raspberry Vinegar, get some poured over cool Yorkshire Puddings for a delicious desert!

      Reply
      • 19. Nip it in the bud  |  August 18, 2011 at 6:39 pm

        well I do love both those ingredients but I can’t say I would have ever thought to put them together like that! The hard part would be leaving a Yorkshire pudding to cool – they always get scoffed in our house now matter how full we are!

        Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    About Nip it in the bud


    Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

    If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

    Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

    Blog Stats

    • 436,936 hits

    Archives

    A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
    TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

