some people

February 19, 2011 at 3:02 pm 10 comments

Some people talk and talk
and never say a thing.
Some people look at you
and birds begin to sing.

Some people laugh and laugh
and yet you want  to cry

Some people touch your hand
and music fills the sky.

– by Charlotte Zolotow 

Some people let their actions speak for them.  And helping hands this week have enabled us to get a head start on this year’s allotment preparations.  As much as I enjoy growing my own food I do find it overwhelming sometimes (gardening is not my ONE true love!).  How heartening it has been to see 3 times my own digging effort from a couple of afternoons at the plot.  As we left on Thursday we bumped into my neighbour Derek and I swear he nearly fainted as he jibed
‘What are you doing here, it’s only February’.

My mum and dad… quite some people. Thanks heaps and yes, please come again 

mum:   ‘‘I wouldn’t say I love gardening, and I’m no Percy Thrower, but I don’t mind coming again if it helps you’.
me:  ‘Who on earth is Percy Thrower?’
mum:  ‘He’s a famous gardener isn’t he?’
me:  ‘Dad, who’s Percy Thrower?’
dad:  ‘He was one of the first TV gardeners in the 70’s – he died about 20 years ago’.
mum:  ‘oh’

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

wordless wednesdays making fudgy coconut brownies

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic's husband  |  February 19, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    and me! (the first time only) – I cleared up all the messy stuff by the hazel trees and made a barrier to stop unwanted invaders from the playing fields making the holes in the fence even bigger!

    Reply
  • 2. Catherine  |  February 19, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Oh it looks like perfect gardening weather! So nice to see some sunshine on this drizzly day, even if it is on a photo 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  February 19, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Fabulous! It makes so much difference having a little help. And its good to share it all too. Glad you’ve had a boost – scared myself today realising it is almost March. For ages I’ve been saying “we’ve got until March”. Ah well!

    Reply
  • 4. Growing Vegetables  |  February 20, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I envy you being able to get onto your plot already. Mine is so wet I cannot work it. even trying to harvest the parsnips is a problem as I sink about 3 inches and then have great difficulty pulling my feet out with out leaving the boots behind.

    But seeing your photos has warmed the heart up with thought sof soon been able to get back to it.

    Reply
  • 5. Rachel @ Suburban Yogini  |  February 20, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Percy Thrower used to be the gardener in the Blue Peter garden. I remember when it got vandalised and Percy was nearly in tears on live TV – and now I’m really showing my age….

    Reply
  • 6. nina - tabiboo  |  February 20, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Happy gardening!

    I’m not one for the digging – more of a harvesting kind of gal…that’s me.

    take care,

    Nina xxx

    Reply
  • 7. Everlovin' Dad  |  February 20, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Photos were our first week in “Strictly come Gardening”, with Nic and George. It is a lot to dig over, but we look forward to the
    culmination of our efforts with a jar of pickle (for Mum) and some raspberries and/or strawberries (without the vinegar!) when harvested.

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  February 20, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    G – you and I count as one darling {wink}. Your efforts are worthy of a story all of their own!

    Catherine – the first day was lovely and bright but very nippy. The second day was kinder to the fingers and noses but hard on backs – the soil was like treacle from all the rain.

    Janet – many hands make much lighter work for sure. Yay, roll on March when you can get those lovely seed potatoes in :o)

    GV – our soil is a bit treacly but yours sounds positively soupy. I hope it dries out for you soon. It revives the soul to be out in the garden again.

    Rachel – I just googled it – petrol in the fish pond, smashed vases… our sheds were vandalised again at the end of Jan and I understand Percy’s frustration!

    Nina – I love harvesting too which is why digging help is so appreciated now (not the nicest task in the garden to volunteer for!)

    Dad – raspberries AND strawberries – well you’ll definitely have to come over this week to negotiate that one {wink}. Never any shortage of pickles :o)

    Reply
  • 9. Cheryl  |  February 22, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Your bright start is reminding me spring won’t be long. We just received 20cm of snow, so it’s hard to imagine being in the garden without your photos!

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  February 22, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      snow! I shouldn’t be shocked – how soon we forget once it all melts. We’ve had snow the last couple of February’s (I remember because we built snowmen on my birthday) but not this year. All the Feb snow fell in December I think! You’ll be surprised how quick your garden will come to life once it all goes. Happy gardening when the time is right x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 442,782 hits

Archives

Instagram

Someone was excited to find friends have come to stay. "Help Mummy and Daddy decorate the Christmas tree" is the #kindnesselves first suggestion.
.
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife E found his playgroup Angel Gabriel costume and photo from 2 years ago and found it amusing how much his arms had grown! 
#angelgabriel #christmasnativity 
#gloucesterlife It snowed all day and we were indoors with poorly boys (they had a 15 minute  play in the yard at least). This is what the allotment is probably looking like (#onefromthearchives January 2013). #nipitinthebudblog #snowyallotment #allotmentgardening #newblogpost - an @oxouk stocking fillers gift guide .  The steel jigger is our absolute favourite this year :0)
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #oxogoodgrips #cookingwithkidsisfun #avocadoslicer #steeljiggers #stainlesssteeltongs #icecreamscoop #bakersdustingwand  #oxouk E's birthday is about 3 weeks after Christmas so I always start thinking about his celebrations around this time.  We've decided to book the community hall at our local cafe like we did a few years ago.  His 3rd birthday cake and jungle themed food will be a hard act to follow and he's chosen Dr Seuss for his theme so goodness knows what sort of cake we'll pull out the bag for this one! #birthdaycake #birthdaypartyfood #nipitinthebudblog #willywonkacake Rather intrigued by these!!!! @Regranned from @marksandspencer -  Introducing the avocado you never knew you needed. Our new cocktail avocados don’t have a stone and are completely edible (yes including the skin) In stores now in limited supply. 🥑🥑🥑 - #regrann
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

