sow happy

March 14, 2011 at 11:09 pm 8 comments

With just one windowsill in our house and no garden to speak of my growing year generally commences once the ground at the allotment is warm enough for outdoor sowing.  The exception of course is bringing tomato seeds to life on said windowsill. The mere sight of these cherry tomato seedlings sends prickles of excitement up the back of my neck!

We’ve had some gorgeously sunny days in Gloucester over the last week or so.
It’s still nippy outside but inhaling sunshine really puts a spring in your step.  I love how nature stirs and shifts so rapidly with the advent of March and I’ve formed a habit of stepping out on my lunchbreak at work, following the same route, to behold the seasonal changes.  The neighbourhood around a business park is not somewhere you might expect to find lots of buds and blossoms and birdsong but as I amble along I’m reminded of the Confuscian saying:
everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it’.

Other smile-making moments last week included further progress at the allotment thanks to my marvellously helpful mum and dad (if digging was an Olympic sport they’d be Gold medalists!)

and watching Mikey sunbathing in the back yard.  

“The longer I live, the more beautiful life becomes.
If you foolishly ignore beauty, you will soon find yourself without it.”

Frank Lloyd Wright

I wonder… what smile making moments have you had this week?

Entry filed under: allotment tales, away from the plot.

wordless wednesday wordless wednesday

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  March 15, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Allotment is looking rather splendid, with breath held ready to nurture seed sown. You live not far from me, when do you find it is warm enough to sow outside? I am happy to have tomato and chilli seedlings merrily growing away on my windowsill, but would dearly love to sow parsnips…

    Reply
  • 2. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  March 15, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Plum blossom everywhere, lightly warm sun, anenomes in the woods, wild garlic ditto… forgotten bulbs poking through in the garden… lots to smile about the last couple of days. Love that happy cat photo!

    Reply
  • 3. Everlovin' Dad  |  March 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Your mum likes the idea of getting a gold medal,
    (milk not dark chocolate preferred). Does that mean
    we are in the heats again this week?

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  March 16, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Janet – I’ve only grown parsnips once, in the early days of allotment gardening when I didn’t have much ground cleared and just bunged in a few seeds. They have such a long germination period that I wasn’t quite sure where I’d put them until months later when they began to emerge (I’m much more organised about my sowing these days!). Anyway I think you’d be fine to sow now. My second (last) attempt to grow parsnips failed I think because I left it too late by sowing in an April heatwave!
    Whereabouts are you then Janet? I thought you were near Bristol?

    Joanna – just reading your list makes me smile, what a lovely week you’re having :o)

    Dad – finals mate! perhaps it’s like a recurring nightmare for you though keep coming back each week instead of having a 4 year break between sessions!

    Reply
  • 5. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  March 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I’m just north of Bristol, officially South Gloucestershire, and the site is high and exposed. But I plan to sow parsnips this week, as soon as I can get up there – though I will cover the ground with fleece too…

    Reply
  • 6. greg becker  |  March 16, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Your blog made me smile!

    Reply
  • 7. the666bbq  |  April 2, 2011 at 12:33 am

    tomato seedlings always do the trick 😉

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  April 2, 2011 at 10:36 am

    Janet – parsnips are hardy fellows, I’m sure they’ll cope.

    Greg – as did your comment for me :o)

    Peter – especially now several weeks on. I’ve just repotted mine. Still don’t want to chance them outside so they’re being tolerated in a very inconvenient place on the kitchen floor at the moment. All 30+ of them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,336 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

