spring zing

March 21, 2011 at 11:40 pm 10 comments

It’s official.  Spring is here.  Hoorah!
You’re probably tired of hearing me say ‘I love…‘to all things spring like.
But I do.  And what’s not to love?
Brilliant blue skies
Swapping four wheels for two.
Crab apple blossom and the promise of fruitful pickings in the autumn.
Robins tentatively hopping closer and closer after a spot of digging, on the hunt for worms and grubs, before fleeing to the trees to sing their sweet song.


Who spotted Gloucester Cathedral in the background of the bike shot?
I never have before now!  Anyone would think I go round with my eyes shut.
Anyone might be right (but never on wheels I assure you!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

wordless wednesday wordless wednesday

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela De Souza  |  March 22, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Wow what beautiful photos 🙂 I LOVE spring too! Everything is so pretty and fresh and new x

    Reply
  • 2. greg becker  |  March 22, 2011 at 9:34 am

    the only thing not to love about spring is that its over too quickly

    Reply
  • 3. anenthusiast  |  March 22, 2011 at 9:34 am

    How wonderful! Jealous!! Norf London is not as pretty, I can assure you…

    Reply
  • 4. anitanee  |  March 22, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Ah, lovely. Have you heard the bird song on Kate Bush’s Aerial? She uses bird song as the basis for melody on CD2 which is all one long song, worth a listen … funnily enough heard a wood pigeon this morning and it made me think of it x

    Reply
  • 5. Tom Hayward  |  March 22, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Ah yes. All the azaleas are in full bloom here in Mobile and the temp is running a balmy 80-84 degrees. Time to rake up all the camillia blossoms that have gone over.

    Reply
  • 6. mrspao  |  March 22, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Huzzah – so happy that spring is finally here. I love seeing beauitful blossoms.Your cat is very sweet.

    Reply
  • 7. peggy  |  March 22, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Hi Nic, we had the most beautiful Spring day today it was up in the mid teens with blue skies and sunshine all day!

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  March 23, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Angela – such cheer in the air when the sun’s out. How are you getting on with your vegetable garden?

    Greg – at least a farewell to spring means a hello to summer, yay 😮

    anenthusiast – I bet if I challenged you to snap 5 pretty things on a day out in your neck of the woods you could do it….

    Anita – no I hadn’t but I’m listening to it now on Spotify. Bit late to listen to all 42 minutes but will definitely replay tomorrow. That wood pigeon keeps time very well!

    Tom – how lovely. I took balmy to mean pretty warm but googled ‘how hot is 80 degrees F?’. The first answer was ‘so hot you need lemonade!’ I’d be delighted to spend the day outside in 26.6 degrees heat. We’re nudging 12-16 degrees C at the moment so please send some my way if it all gets too much for you {wink}

    Mrs Pao – did you think Sirius has slinked off your blog onto mine for a minute there? I noticed he has a white bib just like Mikey. I’ve yet to meet a pure black cat.

    Peggy – blissful x

    Reply
  • 9. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  March 23, 2011 at 10:15 am

    So true, what’s not to love! For me one of the yearly Rites of Passage is the first time I get to eat lunch outdoors without feeling I need to rush back in afterwards to treat my frostbite. I’ve had two such lunches already, the magnolia is in full bloom, and new life is springing up everywhere I look. Love it.

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  March 23, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    leisurely lunches outside – fab 😮
    It was lovely at the plot this morning and I’m feeling thoroughly warn out (in a nice way) from the sun as much as the work!
    My neighbour Derek was there sowing his parsnips so you can definitely reach for that packet

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,702 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

