100,384 reasons to be cheerful

March 26, 2011 at 9:43 am 15 comments

oh my, how did that happen?
100,384 hits probably doesn’t amount to much in the world of mega-bloggers but in my world it rocks!

I have YOU to thank of course.  Yes you lovely reader who once stumbled upon my blog and decided to stick around so I wouldn’t feel like a loon talking to myself.
To express my thanks this is my gift to you (that’s right, the kind of gift you give because you love it so much yourself – guilty!).
I give you  Pummelvision 😮
Pummel what, you say!   
Pummelvision, this ace application
that created a 40 second video from the 289 photos in my ‘2009 allotment growingFlickr set.  Brilliant.

Creating your own Pummelvision video literally takes seconds if your photos are already uploaded on Flickr or Facebook.  If you feel a bit giddy seeing the photos flash past this quickly (8 pictures per second!) you can select a slower setting.
Here are the same photos in a 02:41 minute video.

Entry filed under: allotment tales, away from the plot.

wordless wednesday £75 well spent

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  March 26, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Love it! What an ace app! And congratulations on the hit count, seems amazing to me, as such a new blogger.

    Reply
  • 2. Johanna GGG  |  March 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    wow that does make me dizzy to watch all those photos but that is 289 reasons to be cheerful – beautiful photos

    Reply
  • 3. houdini  |  March 26, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Never hard of Pummelvision either – I will keep it in mind too 😉

    Many thanks – great blog 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  March 26, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    That’s brilliant ! Beautiful collage effect. Your vegetables look amazing even at speed 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Tom Hayward  |  March 26, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Kinda grows on you, don’t it?

    Reply
  • 6. anitanee  |  March 26, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    What a very ‘Nic’ blog – happy, thankful, loving and giving, creative, quirky and fun. I’m waiting for mine to be done now x

    Reply
  • 7. Rufus  |  March 26, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Very Good, but can it be slowed down even more for a more lingering look?

    Reply
  • 8. kirsten  |  March 27, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    congrats on the views! That’s fantastic!

    Reply
  • 9. Chris  |  March 28, 2011 at 7:51 am

    I’ve Hazel to thank for the link to your Blog which I love reading, but this Pummelvision has added a new dimension to your excellent photos!

    Reply
  • 10. Laura  |  March 28, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Thanks for your sweet comment about my book, Nic! It would be lovely to see you at knitting club sometime – I’ve not had much time for it this winter, but now my schedule is less hectic I’m looking forward to doing lots of knitting again 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  March 28, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    Janet – It’s my 2nd blog birthday in June and I never dreamed I’d ever hit the 100,000 mark. Some people probably get that many hits in a month but I like the fact that I feel like I know each and everyone of my commenters. Your stats must be good as there’s always a good deal of comments being exchanged every time you post.

    Johanna – certainly beats the old days of boring old slide shows where no matter how great a photo was you could still be bored to death by the presenter!

    houdini – thanks Al. Nice of you to comment. Congratulations on your graduation – more time for all the things you love now

    Joanna – it’s great fun playing with Pummelvision. I would do a more recent video but haven’t been so organised about archiving my photos yet this year.

    Tom – grows on you and becomes intwined in life. I have to stop and remind myself sometimes that this is a mostly-about-gardening blog with dash of cooking and a smattering of cats and not a something-about-everything blog!

    Anita – aw you! {blushing}. Hope you liked your Pummelvision creation. I reckon it would be a great way of doing some animation with K taking stills of actions – could be quite slapstick in a Benny Hill kind of way 😮

    Rufus – the longer video is as slow as it gets. All the photos there are on the blog (with stories) so naturally I’d recommend taking a browse back through the archives for 2009. You’ve been with me since then so I’m sure you’ve probably seen them all at some point.

    Kirsten – thank you. I’ve been drooling over your pizza post this evening

    Chris – how lovely to meet another allotment gardener from the Hill 😮 What great work you and Hazel did painting the skip.

    Laura – one of these wednesdays … I actually ordered some new yarn to encourage me to pick up my needles – gorgeous self striping yarn for a wee cardigan. I’m not great at reading patterns so I shall no doubt come looking for advice!

    Reply
  • 12. peggy  |  March 28, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    Congratulatons on the blog readership but I always enjoy your posts so I am not surprised!
    I had to settle for the ‘slow’ version which was still fast!

    Reply
  • 13. Nic  |  March 29, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Great video, I must have a go at that!
    Also it’s great that you have had so many visitors, I can see why though. It’s a brilliant blog with super information and your photos are gorgeous too.

    Reply
  • 14. Nip it in the bud  |  March 30, 2011 at 9:51 am

    Peggy – thank you lovely

    Nic – your gorgeous food photography would make a very drool worthy video. Do it, do it x

    Reply
  • 15. Jacqueline  |  April 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Wow, that is brilliant Nic, will have to give it a go 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 429,018 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

