say it with flowers

April 3, 2011 at 3:59 pm 11 comments

On Mothering Sunday daffodils are often given to children to give to mums.
Today our little friends Daniel and Nathan, daffodils in hand, knocked at our door.
‘We’ve not seen you for a long time have we‘ I said apologetically.  ‘How are you?
Quite fine thanks‘ said nearly 4 year old Daniel before sticking out his foot for us to admire his Stompasaurus shoes.
‘Look at my new Star Wars lego t-shirt’ beamed 6 year old Nathan.
‘You can touch it, it’s bumpy. Oh, these are for you’.
Mission accomplished Nathan and Daniel turned to more serious matters of shoe comparisons and R2D2 role playing while we spoke with their dad.
The sentiment of what they’d actually done was very sweetly lost on them.

Special thoughts today for mothers without children and children without mums.

Entry filed under: home life.

oh, chit wordless wednesday

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela De Souza  |  April 3, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    We included all the women who are trying to be mums and struggling in this area in the mum’s prayer today. They got flowers too along with all the other mums and were included in everything as we are beleiving with them in faith on this special day. Happy Mother’s day for all mum’s and mum’s waiting to be mums.
    xxx

    Reply
  • 2. Angela De Souza  |  April 3, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Oh, and I did a post for children withour mums on my blog today – seems we were thinking along the same lines 🙂
    http://kingsdaughters21.blogspot.com/2011/04/happy-mothers-day.html

    Reply
  • 3. Norm  |  April 4, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Lovely – and thanks too to Angela. It’s a kind of strange day when you’d love to be on the receiving end of it all, but aren’t/can’t be.

    And Nic, don’t worry about posting the photo challenge pics too soon! I just did it early/in March because I knew that as soon as I got back from Myanmar I’d have hundreds of photos to sort out (I have), plus going back to a new term at school (chaotic as predicted!) so I wanted to get it out of the way. I might plan another one in 6 months or so…

    Kx

    Reply
  • 4. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  April 4, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    I am without a Mum and not a mum so thank you from me too! It becomes a day of Remembrance in my home, so I put flowers out on the table for my Mother and spend it quietly. How lovely to have children come to the door with flowers, a friend brought me some tulips on Saturday, all bright and chirpy.

    Reply
  • 5. Reluctant Gardener  |  April 4, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    That’s a lovely story, Nic.
    Joanna, me too.
    My partner lost his Mum also last year so this was our first year with both Mums gone, and we decided that we could still have Mother’s Day, even tho we celebrated it by ringing up both our Dads (still alive) and inviting my Dad round for tea.

    http://www.mandysutter.com/reluctant-gardener-day-1/

    Reply
  • 6. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  April 4, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    How lovely!

    Reply
  • 7. anita  |  April 4, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    How lovely. Mothering Sunday (as my Mum INSISTS it’s called, frowning at us when we give her a card with the wrong wording, which we try not to do but sometimes it’s unavoidable ….) is a strange time in our household, as I’m sure in many others. Significant celebrations like this carry both joy and poignancy … thought of you lots on Sunday xxxx

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  April 4, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    Angela – thanks for sharing your thoughtful comments and links. What a joyous sound the choir create. Music is definitely soothing to the soul!

    Kate – bittersweet indeed. I’ll look forward to seeing pics from your travels. Nearly sorted my March Memories…

    Joanna – quite reflection for those we’ve lost is precious time spent. Glad you had some floral cheer too x

    Mandy – Dad’s are very important too especially when mum’s (they’re life partners afterall) are no longer with them. Lovely that your dad lives so close to you. I’m sorry to hear your partners loss is so recent x

    Janet – it was wasn’t it (the flower giving event not my telling of it!)

    Anita – I hear you lovely and felt those kindly heartfelt thoughts winging their way to me on the breeze (a little rainy here in Gloucester by the time they arrived but nothing could dent their cheer and loveliness – thank you :o)

    Reply
  • 9. Choclette  |  April 5, 2011 at 5:53 am

    A lovely piece Nic. I have a mother, but I am sadly not one, so it’s nice to think someone is thinking of us.

    Reply
  • 10. Johanna GGG  |  April 5, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    that is so sweet – little gestures really make the world a better place

    Reply
  • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  April 5, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Choc – thank you and glad it resonated for you too

    Johanna – so true. Just as a straw can break a camels back the tiniest kindness can part the clouds and reveal the sunshine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,336 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

