March memories

April 29, 2011 at 9:15 am 9 comments

You may have come across a photographic scavenger hunt called 26 Things?
Kate in Brunei blogged her colourful results of the November challenge and I was intrigued by the concept of bloggers around the world snapping the same 26 words with such individual results.  November was too cold and grey in England to feel inspired but Kate’s 16 things challenge coincided with the first signs of Spring and a new resolve to go for a walk on my lunch breaks.  Perfect timing, thanks Kate.
.

CELEBRATION

”cat mum home with stuff for cat cake, now having a little cat party” wrote G.
 ‘you know how bonkers that makes us sound, don’t you?’  cat mum wrote back.
Making a cake to celebrate the cats birthday amounted to turning a tin of Sheba upside down on a plate and decorating it with treats to look like a cat face.   Weird 6 legged spider was more the effect we ended up with!  Nevertheless the cats loved it and we barely made it to the end of ‘Happy Birthday dear ‘  before they’d finished it.

STRIPEYGorgeous Smiley Stripes yarn bought using a voucher 2 years after I was given it! Casting on is a little overdue but in the next decade I hope to make one of these
.
EMPTY Can’t get enough of those crispy greens!  As well as Kale, Spring greens work well – less crispy, more chewy.
.
A GAME

The ‘scrambled snake game’ as Tom and Kim call it.  We all love the story of the Gruffallo and played this board game during their visit to England last summer. They hadn’t come across snakes and ladders before and thought we were cheating when we told them snakes always meant slide down and not climb!
.
NEWA dedicated flower bed inspired by our visit to Durham’s Botanical Gardens last year.  Poppies, Cornflowers, Love-in-the-Mist and some scented flowers sown. Weeds and flowers emerging but I can’t yet tell what’s what at the moment!

WORK
I use Gloucestershire Car Share scheme to get to work.  My lift share partner had two weeks off in March and I got the bus instead.  The journey home begins here.
.
GROWING
I planted some cuttings from Henri’s redcurrant bush in November.  They resembled dead twigs until March when the tiny buds that had formed started to open up.
.
HOME-MADEA naughty treat from my dear friend Mel who bought them from her church bake-a-thon.  The lady who made them is a lovely, sweet, scrummy character apparently, just like her cupcakes. They raised £1000 – that’s a lot of cupcakes!
.
FAVOURITE
My new favourite mug (another fab Mel gift). We don’t do small mugs in our house but this one’s jumbo even by our standards. 500mls in one very huggy mug
.
BLUE
I’d happily cycle to work if there was a more pleasant, less hazardous route. Sadly this cycle route sign indicates the shared pathway that circles the business park.
It stops and starts at the bus stop on the main road. Boo.
.
EVENING
Billy is our loyal evening companion and always sleeps like this to watch films with us (my outstretched legs are buried underneath him)
.
PATTERN
Last Summer I bought 100 flowers to knit and crochet. Unhappily for me all the small delicate flowers are crocheted not knitted and I can’t work out the patterns.  I browsed Ravelry instead for a knitted pattern and Julie’s strawberry flowers have been sitting at the top of my favourites list ever since!  By happy coincidence I was already following Julie’s Little Cotton Rabbit’s blog so it felt like bumping into a friend unexpectedly (Julie’s Hedgehog pattern never made it on to my needles either – shocking I know!)
.
FLIGHT
Mikey loves sitting on the back wall:  the wheelie bin is his launchpad!
.
YESTERDAY
Yesterday, the last day of the challenge, coincided with a visit from Al and Rafferty. After lunch we raided the book box and settled down for some very cute story time.
My heart smiles every time I recall Raff’s ‘pink I think‘ answer to ‘What colour is Mikey?’ (our black cat).
.
FABRIC
A very generous hand-made gift from dear Bilbo for G’s music room.  I’m ashamed to admit we still haven’t hung it yet – bad little Hobbits!
.
LOUD

Huge loud potential but actually G’s music room is a gently creative space where instruments are strummed, bashed and plonked with a delicate touch.

Entry filed under: allotment tales, away from the plot, being creative, great people, home life, in the kitchen.

wordless wednesday BBQ anyone?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  April 29, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Fab photos – love the mug.

    Reply
  • 2. anenthusiast  |  April 29, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Oh! May I just register my jealousy of that lovely music room for just one moment? My bass is crying out to be lovingly kept up and out of reach on a wall!

    Reply
  • 3. Joanna @ Zeb Bakes  |  April 29, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    What a lovely idea and beautifully done. I just went and had a peek at Kate’s original post. I’m blown away by all these fabulous photographs and the words that go with them. Inspiring project!

    Reply
  • 4. Nic  |  April 29, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I hadn’t heard of it before, but what a great idea! Your photos are terrific as usual, interesting and thought provoking!

    Reply
  • 5. Johanna GGG  |  April 30, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    beautiful collection of photos – always love seeing your pussy cats and I love the kids reaction to snakes in the snakes and ladders – they just think everything will bode well for them these days – and I love your new cup too

    Reply
  • 6. Norm  |  May 1, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Wow, what a great set of shots, well done!! I particularly loved your ‘Evening’ and ‘Flight’ ones – your cats are such characters! I read ‘Little Cotton Rabbits’ too – blogworld is at once a vast and small place!

    Thanks for taking part.

    Kx

    Reply
  • 7. julie  |  May 2, 2011 at 11:50 am

    great pictures Nic – I love your big mug, I’m a big mug kinda girl too! Looking forward to seeing your flower bed in bloom – wish we had enough space to do the same but all out free areas are too shady. Thanks so much for the kind mention – hope you find the flower pattern useful, J x

    Reply
  • 8. Bilbo  |  May 2, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Am honoured to be included {grin} and don’t worry about not putting the hanging on the wall – perhaps it wants to be a table runner now it lives with you!

    Excellent photo of Mikey in flight

    Reply
  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  May 3, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Janet – I do to, let’s hope it survives swishing cat tails better than some of the cups and mugs in our house have!

    anenthusiast – certainly makes better use of a small space and encourages a little strumming

    Joanna – aren’t they colourful and I love how many variations there are on the same theme. You can see why I was inspired to have a go.

    Nic – stop it, you’re making me blush!

    Johanna – we explained to them that all ups would make it a bit of a quick and dull game rather than the exciting drama of ups and downs. Also had to tackle the down grumps with ‘good sport’ to help them accept the mini- defeats of the snakes!

    It would have been impossible not to feature one of the cats. I thought I did well to limit it to 2 out of the 16!

    Kate – thanks, I enjoyed it (collating it was a fiddle and WP didn’t play very nicely formatting all those pics and notes)

    Julie – thank you, I’m determined this is the year for more knitting. The flower seedlings are coming up now and are large enough to tell what’s what – just need to get weeding and watering now.

    Bilbo – it’ll get mauled by a cat if not hung up (or covered in fluff at the very least!). You must come and meet the fluffsters in person one of these days if you can bear the thought of venturing City side :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

