pictures with words wednesday

June 8, 2011 at 5:34 pm 9 comments

My father-in-law, this cheeky fella, asked me recently what wordless wednesday was all about?  ‘It’s just a photo – I’m disappointed when you don’t say anything’.
I explained it’s an opportunity to post a random photo, with no title or explanation; a break from writing the words that generally define blogging.  ‘Oh’ he said.
So this post, full of pictures with words, is dedicated to Papa G – a man with more than his fair share of stories to tell.

I’ve been sorting through all the pictures on my laptop recently.  It’s been too many years since I last updated the board in our kitchen. Some important people or their little ones were missing (some still are so prepare to be snapped when I see you next!).  Now we’re joined in the kitchen by these beautiful faces and memories.  It’s so lovely (I know it’s a bit wonky but isn’t that part of the charm?)

I ordered my prints from Photobox and also had great fun creating customised note books for friends birthdays.  I even treated myself to a gardening notebook.  I feel like a child though and don’t want to ‘spoil’ it by using it.  And yet I must – it has graph paper inside for drawing up my master plans!

You could say the kitchen has had quite a revamp (but without the much needed repaint).  A canvas of my Durham cornflowers now graces one wall

and G’s Granddad and his mates are framed on the other.

Entry filed under: home life.

first fruits wordless wednesday

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. greg becker  |  June 8, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    very nice juxtaposition of cornflowers and crooners (especially like the charabanc in the background)

    Reply
  • 2. JohannaGGG  |  June 9, 2011 at 3:47 am

    love hearing about what you do with your photos – I don’t organise mine often enough but am trying to get some into photo books and I think come this christmas I will organise them into some calendars for presents – great pic of your father in law

    Reply
  • 3. Ruthdigs  |  June 9, 2011 at 7:37 am

    I love your photo wall and the big prints. Your kitchen must be a fun, colourful, loving place to be. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Ann  |  June 9, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Love the cornflower picture and enjoyed seeing the black and white picture too, where were they off to, do you know?

    Reply
  • 5. nina - tabiboo  |  June 9, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    A montage – I love them. And I do say ‘absolutely’ what a cheeky fella of a father in law you have there.

    Nina 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. papaG  |  June 9, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    nice one Noodle, from the cheeky fella xx+x

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  June 14, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Greg – I didn’t know the bus was called a Charabanc. Thanks for another little piece of the jigsaw that is family history :o) G’s grandad is the one with the banjo

    Johanna – I toy with the idea of making photo books from time to time but they can be expensive to print. I ditched all the albums in lieu of more space on the shelves for books so many of our photos are in an old tin. Photos pre. 2005 that is – the rest are on a very-big-needing-to-be-sorted-out hard drive!

    Ruth – the photo board makes it feel very homely and we prefer it to having lots of framed photos on the walls (and so easy to update with a bit more diligence)

    Ann – they lived in London and used to just book the charabanc (thanks Greg) and go off on jollies to Brighton.

    Nina – I like that it’s so varied. I’d have found it even harder to choose if I was as good at taking photos as you though :o)

    PapaG – glad you liked it (G assured me you would)

    Reply
  • 8. peggy  |  June 25, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    I love the cornflower print, its so colourful and real.I have just spent 2 evenings cleaning up old photos on my computer, deleted over 700 ! Documents are the next to be decluttered.
    making notebooks etc is a great idea to make use of all those lovely flower photos.
    it may be a wordless wed photo but looking a that cheeky grin I would think he is never lost for words!

    Reply
    • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  June 27, 2011 at 5:42 pm

      that’s quite an achievement clearing all those pics off your computer – well done you.

      Very discerning of you Peggy – I could never imagine PapaG lost for words!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

