wordless wednesday

July 13, 2011 at 5:54 pm 13 comments

Entry filed under: allotment tales, wordless wednesday.

let the glut times roll the alphabet in August

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catherine  |  July 13, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Oh lovely! I dream of picking flowers from my own garden – these are so beautiful, too!

    Reply
  • 2. Denise  |  July 13, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Must do sweet peas next year!

    Reply
  • 3. greg becker  |  July 13, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    could be a spot the flower competition. I have to be more careful with my identification this time but I see 7 different flower types – sweet peas, cornflowers, poppies (welsh & californian), lavender, campion, oregano and what look like buttercups in he field?

    Reply
  • 4. sionakaren  |  July 14, 2011 at 9:19 am

    These pictures are beautiful. I am so desperate to have my own garden to be able to grow pretty flowers like these. You have a lovely garden.

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  July 14, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Catherine – I’m so pleased with this bed. It’s the first time I’ve grown flowers from seed at the allotment. They don’t last long once picked but the sights and smells are wonderful.

    Denise – such high return from sweetpeas from such little effort. I shall never be without them from now on :o)

    Greg – fabulous, spot on :o) thanks for naming the Campion – we hadn’t worked out what that was (and it grew all on it’s own!)

    Siona – thank you, the cornflowers would work well in pots…

    Reply
  • 6. Joanna  |  July 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Beautiful beautiful, heart delights – I am going to rush down the garden to the bit where I chucked the packet of wildflower seeds and look under the pots of purple potatoes and see what is there in the way of flowers, I always sow them in the wrong place. Potatoes are doing very well by the way as far as I can tell x Joanna

    Reply
  • 7. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  July 15, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Beautiful – I can almost smell those sweet peas.

    Reply
  • 8. Cheryl  |  July 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    So lovely! My flower garden is so straggly this year – with your beautiful photos at least I can enjoy your pretties as if they were right here:)

    Reply
  • 9. Nic  |  July 17, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    So pretty and very colourful. I keep meaning to grow sweet peas.

    Reply
  • 10. Mike10613  |  July 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Nice pictures. I have just started photographing flowers. Not the ones in my garden but wild flowers. I have lots of apples and wouldn’t mind if someone asked to pick them!

    Reply
    • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  July 20, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      Joanna – glad the spuds are thriving. They’ll have some pretty flowers too then? Hope you found some wildflower delights at the bottom of the garden

      Janet – and they just keep coming …

      Cheryl – the joys of the virtual garden! (like envyingadmiring all your sewing creations that I know will never end up on my machine!)

      Nic – they’re so effortless and I doubt my garden will ever be without them now

      Mike – thanks, there’s always lots to inspire in nature isn’t there. Apples on tap… lucky you

      Reply
  • 12. cherry  |  July 23, 2011 at 3:05 am

    Love your blog. Always gives me a smile to see whats growing around the other side of the world and for some reason i love allotments and their adventures!

    Reply
    • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  July 26, 2011 at 6:28 am

      thanks for your kind comment Cherry – a lovely way to start my day :o) There are so many stories from the allotment and not enough time to blog them! You’ve reminded me though that a post about some of the lovely plot people is long overdue.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,243 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

