B is for …

August 3, 2011 at 7:17 pm 16 comments

… blogger.

I sometimes include ‘I write a blog‘ in my list of interests.  As it’s been over 2 years since I wrote my first post perhaps I should be a bit more comfortable with saying
‘I am a blogger’!

The hardest thing about starting a blog is not deciding which of your interests to write about, what your blog will look like, who you liked to read it etc.  The hardest thing is deciding what to call it.  I forget what names were discarded in favour of  Nip it in the bud but I do recall wanting my blog name to make sense to gardeners and for it to mean something to me personally.  I already suspected I might find it tricky to just stick to one theme and I dared to imagine that further down the line I might be comfortable with sharing a little something of the girl outside the garden.

2009 was a difficult year and the creative aspect of writing a blog was a good antidote to life’s stresses (not to mention that writing about gardening requires doing some so I was spurred into action for the sake of taking photos on days I might have otherwise cried off).  Choosing Nip it in the bud as my blog name  was a reminder to myself to deal with problems before they snowball, no matter how hard that might seem, and to ‘prune‘ my emotional response in difficult situations.

The second hardest thing about starting to blog is the fear that you’re writing in a vacuum and actually just talking to yourself (poor fragile ego!).  Without you lovely readers I may well have given up a long time ago so thank you for keep coming back.  ‘And who’s Jacqueline you ask?  Jac was the first person to leave a comment on my blog that I didn’t already know in real life (on a post that combined growing and eating our allotment veg).  Friendships forged on-line – one of the best things about blogging.

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

A is for … C is for …

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. greg becker  |  August 3, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    blogging is so many things, its personal, global, connecting, creative, therapeutic, informative (for example I just learn how to spell therapeutic), fun, etc etc. in fact it deserves its own alphabet. My B word is Begone, so I will.

    Reply
  • 2. Mal  |  August 3, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    b? but B … is for bloody weeds….

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  August 3, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Know what you mean about who are you blogging for. I keep having to remind myself it’s for me, the diary I always meant to keep but never did. Writing and showing pictures on my blog is much more enjoyable than the old conventional diary.

    My B is for beetroot, they are doing really well this year and I’m enjoying eating them hot. Also, I just opened my last jar of chutney from last year – beetroot of course!

    Reply
  • 4. Tom Hayward  |  August 3, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    B is for butterbeans (limas to you northern folks), so great mixed with corn or just steamed and served with pork roast.

    Reply
  • 5. Nic's Husband  |  August 4, 2011 at 8:03 am

    N: “What’s your B?”
    G: “dunno, just thinking about it”
    N: “it’s obvious!”
    G: “oh yeah”

    dur brain!
    Badminton (I’m in the top 200 in England don’t you know!)

    Reply
  • 6. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  August 4, 2011 at 9:09 am

    I still sometimes feel a faint sense of embarrassment when I tell friends that I am a blogger. I think I assume they will lump me in with Scottish men pretending to be East European call girls etc. But its become a big part of my life. It has helped my gardening (forcing me to do stuff so that I have something to write about, learning from others, discovering new plants etc.). It has made me a better photographer. And I’ve made new friends. So my “b” would have to be blogging too. And nice to know why you called yours what you did. I too still remember that thrill of getting the first “real” comment and realising there were actual real people reading my stuff. Glad to have “met” you!

    Reply
  • 7. Joanna  |  August 4, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Congratulations to Nic’s Husband on his Badminton! And it’s been lovely reading your blog, I think I found you via Robin, who I missed seeing this year at the baking weekend in Wales. I like the feeling that you are not so very far away in space-time and we are sharing the same seasons, but then I also love reading about the gardening and growing done by my blogfriends in Australia when we are in the middle of winter. You all enrich my life, thank you Nic 😀

    Reply
  • 8. anitanee  |  August 4, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Blimey. The favourite word of someone who’s been a bit of a guru/mentor to me over the years (John Simmons), a word that always makes me smile, and a word that expresses wonder – which is a good thing to experience daily. Also blimey, Nic you always come up with such interesting posts. xx

    Reply
  • 9. Everlovin' Dad  |  August 4, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    B- Bit obvious really
    B- Beautiful (1) Everlovin’s daughter
    (2) gardiners reaction when pulling the growing goodies from the soil, spouse reaction before preparing for lunch/dinner and the
    joy of the taste……………….
    except vinegar on strawberries.

    Reply
  • 10. papaG  |  August 4, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Just a quickie Noodle to fill in the missing days!
    Weds 3rd, ‘ Backbone ‘
    Thurs 4th, ‘Creditable’
    Fri 5th, ‘Determined
    Sat 6, ‘Explicative’
    is this good for my ego or what!! love papaGxx+x

    Reply
  • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  August 4, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Greg – I agree and this post could have been pages long! It’s lovely to see what a variety of responses the challenge is evoking and very glad you’re taking part.

    Mal – well said!

    Ann – did you grow your own beetroot this year? I love it straight up too much to make chutney with again. Enjoy your last jar (although you know if you can hold off it will be even better next year …)

    Tom – good suggestion. I never think to have them in the summer as I use them in soups in the winter. They are lovely and creamy though – would probably make a good basis for a dip/hummus.

    G – I’m still chuckling and in case your dur brain is still loitering your near misses would have been Billy, Belgian chocolate ice cream and books.

    Janet – so true (although I had no idea about connections between what we do and call girls!). See, blogging is so educational!

    Joanna – likewise Joanna :o) You’re always welcome at our little plot in the real world. Although your bread recipes that are so drool worthy on-line would be hard to resist in reality I’m sure.

    Anita – one of my favourites too (although I think in more recent times it’s been usurped by crikey where the wonder is more of an exclamation of shock). Isn’t it lovely when particular words or phrases remind us of someone so fondly.

    PapaG – your ego is deserving of such high praise and just to enlighten everyone else my wonderful artisan father-in-law is building a house!

    Reply
  • 12. fiona mayhem  |  August 4, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    I wish my B was for blogger – I have registered a name, I have written a load of posts, and I have taken (bad) pictures, but I haven’t found my voice yet. Instead, I take vicarious pleasure from others’ greater works. Thanks to all of you that are braver than I.

    Instead, B isfor beans. I have Borlotti, Broad (2 types), Runner, French (2 types), Trail of Tears, and I am always on the lookout for more. I will have to try and surprise you for F and not go for the obvious!

    Reply
  • 13. Nip it in the bud  |  August 5, 2011 at 4:53 am

    I really want to see all those lovely beans now!
    It is a brave step to start blogging but see it like a conversation with a good friend then you only need to think of one person who might enjoy reading it and go from there. And writing for yourself is fine too (if you need to you can tell yourself no-one is reading anyway and it doesn’t really matter!). I’d enjoy reading it judging by your compost post :o)

    Reply
  • 14. fiona mayhem  |  August 5, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Thank you, you are most kind. I have been inspired to go back and have another edit of some stuff. We will see if I am able to finally press Publish!

    Reply
  • 15. JohannaGGG  |  August 8, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Names are so important for blogs – I love yours and I agree that they should be descriptive while not boxing you in – many of my favourite bloggers have a loose theme but are comfortable enough to stray as their fancy takes them.

    Reply
  • 16. itiseasytobegreen  |  August 20, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    … for me and baby rubio… B is for BOOBING! (for most of the day it seems!). Emily x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,556 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

