D is for …

August 5, 2011 at 12:16 pm 9 comments

… daughter.  One and only {wink}.

On my mum and dad’s wedding day in 1968 I doubt I was even the suggestion of a twinkle in their eye.  Or maybe I was.  Afterall as my niece Kim once put it
‘Before I was in my mummy’s tummy I was in my daddy’s eye’.

30 years later when G and I got married I became a daughter-in-law and gained a new family.  Contrary to all the terrible in-law jokes G and I are lucky enough to get on well with each others parents.  Except when my Father-in-law, the cheeky chappy, sneaks in a tickle when you least expect it. 

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

C is for … E is for …

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mal  |  August 5, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    D-lightful

    Reply
  • 2. peggy  |  August 5, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    ha ha, that brought a smile to MY face!

    Reply
  • 3. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  August 6, 2011 at 5:59 am

    I’ve got got inlaws too – makes a big difference, doesn’t it! Mind you, FIL doesn’t tickle me…

    Reply
  • 4. Joanna  |  August 7, 2011 at 11:25 am

    What a great juxtaposition of pictures, I keep popping back to look at them and realise I didn’t say it was me! Love them both 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  August 7, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    thanks all. Always makes me smile looking at the tickle picture too.

    Reply
  • 6. Nic's Husband  |  August 7, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    My Dad is the person who’s had a massive positive influence on me as a male role model (and you’ve even posted up a pic for me).

    Reply
  • 7. Jasmin  |  August 9, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    What precious pictures Nic!

    Reply
  • 8. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Oh Dear, Sorry to come to this so late, unfortunately Real Life has been intruding somewhat lately, and unfortunately not for good stuff. I am catching up now, and enjoying reading through all of these.

    My D is for Drinks – I am having a go at brewing this year, and have made elderflower cordial, elderflower champagne, and some nice beer. I currently have some blackberry wine on the go, and will be trying various others this year too. My Dad also approves of the D for this year, as it appeals to the womble in him.

    Reply
  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 7:09 am

    G – which is why I know you’re going to be a great dad too :o)

    Jas – thanks lovely

    Fiona – you and G both then. Blog link please ….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

