E is for …

August 6, 2011 at 5:00 pm 14 comments

… eggs.

More specifically eggs with really runny yolks.  Like Wendy’s perfect poached egg which I remember drooling over so vividly that it was the first image that sprang to mind when writing this post (many thanks for kindly letting me use it Wendy).

My less beautiful photograph is a snapshot of another memorable lunch after cracking open the last 5 eggs only to discover double yolks in all of them.
That was quite an omelette!

© poached egg image:   a wee bit of cooking: a Scottish food blog

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

D is for … F is for …

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mal  |  August 6, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Sorry I’ve got an ellergy for eggs

    Reply
  • 2. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  August 7, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Oh, that looks so perfect. Must have a runny yoke to be a good egg. I miss looking after chickens and ‘having’ to eat eggs most days to avoid wasting them…

    Reply
  • 3. Joanna  |  August 7, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Extravagant eggy moment there! Look at those doubles! Wow! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Nic's Husband  |  August 7, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Epiphany – something I’d like personally about many issues I have in life!

    Reply
  • 5. Jacqueline  |  August 7, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Mmmmm, that egg does look good. *slurp*

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  August 7, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Mal – poor you. No cake, no ice cream!

    Janet – I’d love to have fresh eggs in the morning from my own chickens. One day …

    Joanna- it was amazing and so far a once in a lifetime find!

    G – nice one. I think you’ve had more awakenings than you might realise and many start with being aware you have some issues in the first place.

    Jac – it would have taken many cracked eggs to get one looking that good. And then there would be the small matter of producing a photo worthy of such a delight. Wendy’s posts often make me *slurp*

    Reply
  • 7. Tom Hayward  |  August 7, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    That’s what we had for breakfast. Cormed beef and poached eggs
    with toasted bagels. Yum-o

    Reply
  • 8. JohannaGGG  |  August 8, 2011 at 2:43 am

    oh eggs look so gorgeous that I wish I loved to eat them – am getting great satisfaction from Sylvia’s recent love of boiled eggs – finally our eggs cups are getting used and now they are multiplying!

    Love this alphabet challenge – am just sorry it is on during a time when I am so strapped for time or I would join in – but it is has inspired lots of lovely posts on your blog – really enjoying catching up on them

    Reply
  • 9. Julie  |  August 8, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Poached eggs – my favourite weekend breakfast! Eggs courtesy of the girls, poaching courtesy of the hubby. Doesn’t get better than that!

    Reply
  • 10. Misk Cooks  |  August 8, 2011 at 8:51 am

    I love eggs, and just wish that we were allowed to keep hens in our neighbourhood — I’d be rolling in eggs if that were so. 😀

    Reply
  • 11. anenthusiast  |  August 8, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Double yokers!! Lucky! We had some when we bought eggs at the campsite last year, gorgeously fresh, bright yellow and huge. Possibly the best breakfast of my life…

    Reply
  • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  August 9, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Tom – breakfast of champions

    Johanna – thanks so much. It’s been a fun motivator for getting me back in the blogging saddle. Shame you can’t join in officially but you can always share your words here as we go through.
    What a shame you and eggs aren’t food friends!

    Julie – bliss :o)

    Misk – having my own hens is on my list of ‘would love to have…’ too. One day.

    anenthusiast – ours came out of some fresh farm eggs and apparently it happens when the hens eat too much (not intentionally overfed just cared for by people who aren’t scrimping on feed)

    Reply
  • 13. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 10:07 am

    I would love some little layers of my own, but my Big Guy says no. He actually asked what use chickens were, and was unamused when I went on about how good they were for compost (and slug eating)! I think he just wants pets that you can walk. Your eggs are fantastic.

    My E is for entertaining. We are always throwing dinner parties, parties abd barbeces for our friends, and since we live in foreign climes, we often have guests over from England, and further afield.

    Reply
    • 14. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 7:07 am

      I’d love chickens too but I need the garden first!

      Entertainment is something we probably should do more of but I’m not much of an evening person and many of our friends have little ones now. Perhaps I need inspiration from some of your dinner party menus…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,936 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

