H is for …

August 10, 2011 at 7:45 pm 12 comments

… home.
Our home is a terraced house in Gloucester with patchy plaster and wonky walls.  We’ve been here for 12 years and I’ve often wondered who might have lived here before us.
I keep saying I’ll wander down to the records office to research it one of these days but until then we have a few pieces of the jigsaw puzzle to tempt us.
Last year I requested a copy of the deeds for our house from our mortgage lender.
I was quite taken aback when I received a thick package in the post with a letter stating ‘The title information relating to your property is now on the Land Registry computer. As we no longer need to hold your documents these are enclosed for your retention.’  The earliest document is dated 1892 when the house was sold for £180. The owner was living in New York and inherited the house from her uncle who had died the previous year.
There’s always something that needs doing when you live in an old house and G’s currently refitting the bathroom. It’s a mucky job removing plaster and lath that’s been there for well over 100 years. He looked like a walking ash monster after an afternoon pulling down plaster made of sand, lime and horse hair.

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

G is for … I is for …

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kirsten  |  August 11, 2011 at 2:53 am

    wow! i’ve pulled down those kinds of walls – stinky horsehair and all! Good luck finishing!

    Reply
  • 2. Julie  |  August 11, 2011 at 7:31 am

    What a fabulous historical record. We have our original deeds (house built 1904) but they’re nowhere near as fancy as yours look!

    Reply
  • 3. Nic's Husband  |  August 11, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Harmony – the best way for life to be, easy to do with Nic!

    Reply
  • 4. Jasmin  |  August 11, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Wow Nic, I didn’t realise your home was so old. Here are 2 little known facts about my house.

    1) It was built in the same year I was born.

    2) It has a secret cavity under the floor that no documents provide detail on. You can climb into it from a trapdoor in the porch and M has walked the length of it to suss it out. I was too scared and claustrophobic so for all I know he has a stash of wine in his makeshift cellar that he’s not told me about!

    Reply
  • 5. Lynne  |  August 11, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    We used to have an old 1820’s toll house in Glossop, Derbyshire and the title deeds were amazing and very thick – all about the Howard estate and Lord Howard. We had a shared drive with the house behind us, which used to be the smithy, so people stopping at the toll bar could get the horses shod. The people before us handed over a copy of the very first Manchester Guardian which had the toll house and charges listed on it. It was fab to live in such a historic building and the stone lintels and mullions were amazing, but we had to move because of other reasons at the time, and the garden was much too small.

    Reply
  • 6. papaG  |  August 11, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Makes interesting reading and look forward to further history if you get the chance and I is for inclination.
    For me H is for Harry and Heaven for cats.
    Previous was G for generosity and F is for fondness.
    To round off the week J is for jovial and Saturday is K for kindness.
    Hopefully I try to give and take some of the previous.

    Reply
  • 7. Denise  |  August 11, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Our house was built in 1956! It’s an ex-Police House. Must do some digging about.

    Reply
  • 8. Nip it in the bud  |  August 12, 2011 at 6:28 am

    Kirsten – stinky indeed and with no shower the clean up is a bit challenging!

    Julie – they’re a fascinating read aren’t they. I may yet go to the records office as they don’t confirm when the house was actually built.

    G – I think the chuckies help with that too

    Jasmin – it’s fascinating what secrets houses hold. I never would have guessed there was a hatch in your porch. It is a weird feeling walking underneath a house – I’m sure you can live without that experience. Thanks for sharing, great story.

    Lynne – how fab to live somewhere so steeped in history. Sadly our house has no garden, just a small yard, so we do hope to move one day (although we’ve been saying that for many years now!)

    PapaG – I’m loving your input on this A-Z :o) Remembering Harry with fondness and thankful for a father-in-law who is so generous spirited, jovial (watch that tickling though!) and kind. Like father like son eh.

    Denise – sounds like an interesting root around the archives is waiting for you

    Reply
  • 9. JohannaGGG  |  August 15, 2011 at 3:27 am

    I love those photos – old houses are just so beautiful – though I am sure G didn’t think that when he emerged covered with dust

    Reply
    • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  August 17, 2011 at 5:15 am

      … or when he fixes shelves to the wall that are dead level but look like he was drunk when he put them up!

      Reply
  • 11. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Sounds like your H could also have been historical! Gloucester is an old, old city, of course, but it is always fun to look back and find out things about the place where you live. You should go to the records office – my dad worked there for a brief, but very happy time. The staff there will probably be just as fascinated as you are about your home.

    My H is for Holland, where I now live, hence the rain, the lack of hedges and the fact that my neighbours think I’m mad. When I first moved in and installed very raised beds (0.5m, to get around the flood problem) they asked why I wanted to grow stuff, since Dutch farmers can produce every kind of vegetable. I don’t think they really understood my explanations, but I think this is their loss.

    Reply
    • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 6:59 am

      I wondered if the staff might find it interesting (especially as we live just one road away from the records office). I’m sure we’ll have some cold wet autumnal days this year – ideal time to get out the house and pour over records…

      People just don’t get that growing veg is not just about the outcome do they! I’m glad you’ve been able to do something with your veg plot despite the challenging environmental conditions

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

