K is for …

August 15, 2011 at 8:03 pm 7 comments

… kindness.
.
This A-Z challenge is proving to be rather thought provoking and I’ve had a bit of an inner tussle with today’s word.  It’s easy to hide behind a blog persona (gardener, chutney maker, cat lover for example) and only reveal small aspects of myself through the stories I share, the things that inspire me and interactions with others that warm my heart. It’s not so easy to declare ‘I am …’.
.
Being kind is fundamental part of who I am and I value kindness highly in other people. Just saying that makes me blush but I’m a big girl now so it’s time I felt comfortable with wearing ‘I am kind hearted’ on my sleeve. Kindness as action makes so much sense to me but I falter when it comes to theorising it in words.

Fortunately people much wiser than me have given it a lot of thought …

People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered.
Love them anyway.

If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives.
Do good anyway.

If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.

The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.

Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds.
Think big anyway.

People favour underdogs but follow only top dogs.
Fight for a few underdogs anyway.

What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.

People really need help but may attack you if you do help them.
Help people anyway.

Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you have anyway.

‘The Paradoxical Commandments’, written by Dr Kent M Keithare often attributed to Mother Theresa who adapted the poem slightly before hanging it on wall of her Childrens home in Calcutta.  

©  ‘Kindness Pass it on‘ from randomactsofkindness.org and ‘loving kindness is my religion’ badge from cafepress.co.uk

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

J is for … L is for …

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic's Husband  |  August 15, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Kool – that’s what you are

    Reply
  • 2. anitanee  |  August 16, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Kindness is definitely under-rated. I’ve received plenty of it from you. I love this post. x

    Reply
  • 3. Joanna  |  August 16, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    As old hippies say, ‘What goes around,comes around’ and even if you have no expectation of loving kindness being returned directly, little by little it makes the world a better place. Better to be kind than not, I’m with you all the way and though we have never met in person I sense your kindness shining through the ether. I would like to add that you are very brave, I can’t find the words to write about myself like this, so I have no idea really about what people see or imagine when they read my alphabet posts. Keep your light shining, it’s very lovely x

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  August 17, 2011 at 5:27 am

    G – krazy more like!

    Anita – you are always a ‘hello lovely’ buddy :o) so pleased you’re enjoying the A-Z (I did wonder if people were getting bored of it since there’s no time for extra gardening/cooking posts)

    Joanna – so true, “Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless.” I also like the fact that being kind is scientifically proven to be good for your health (even observing a kind deed done for someone else has positive effects).
    I’m really enjoying your posts and could never guess what letter you’re going to choose next (unless Q is going to be quirky?) So educational too – had never heard of a Krenit before!
    And you must be very clever to have pre-empted my next letter. L is for … lovely :o) (not turning bravery into boastfulness – just a love of the word!)

    Reply
  • 5. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 10:40 am

    Oh, my K was to be for Kilner jars, because I like them on the shelf.

    Yours is amazing, and thank you for sharing the reading about kindness and who you are.

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 6:51 am

      I love the look of kilner jars and use them for some dried stuff but whenever I’ve used them for pickles/chutney they’ve gone off.

      Reply
  • 7. in saying yes to love | Nip it in the bud  |  September 5, 2013 at 7:12 am

    […] E was certainly “an echo waiting to be told”.  He was born out of a partnerhip where kindness is central. Grace and patience are welcome friends in our home and when stretched thin their mutual friend […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,681 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

