L is for …

August 16, 2011 at 8:33 pm 10 comments

… lovely.

You’ve heard the saying ‘I’d be rich if I had a pound for every time I heard …’.
Well, that would be true of the word lovely for me because I say it so often myself!
It has to be one of my favourite words – it sounds so sing song and conveys meaning edged with a nice warm fuzzy glow.  Friends are greeted with ‘hello lovely’ and I’ll often tell G a story about my day that begins ‘I saw a lovely cat/made a lovely new allotment friend/had a lovely lunch with so and so today’.  Perhaps it’s laziness on my part to use the same word over and over.  Perhaps I’m just a big softie who’s attracted to loveliness in every day things?
Speaking of lovely things, there’s a new kid on the block at the allotment.  He’s rather shy hence the fuzzy zoom shot but very sweet with a lopsided smile and minus a tail.

©  Edward Monkton ‘loveliness’ cards available from campusgifts.co.uk

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

K is for … M is for …

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacqueline  |  August 16, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I was about to say he is lovely, hehe! I am the worst culprit for using the word lovely!

    Reply
  • 2. anitanee  |  August 17, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I was thinking the other day about ‘what word you must over-use’ (preparing of course for the day the Guardian interview me for their weekend supplement), and ‘lovely’ was definitely in the top five, and quite possibly the top one. Others included fantastic, nadgers, blimey-riley-o-miley (?!) and another one I can’t remember now! x

    Reply
  • 3. Mal  |  August 17, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Re first picture – what’s gone wrong with your washing machine???

    Reply
  • 4. Nic  |  August 17, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    I am an over-user of the word lovely on my blog, lol!
    Loving your A-Z

    Reply
  • 5. Catherine  |  August 17, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    I love your new friend at your allotment with the lop sided smile and no tail… hope I can meet him one day!?? maybe a girl? sooooooo sweet and lovely!!! xxx

    Reply
  • 6. PapaG  |  August 17, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    just catching up! I lose track of the days Noodle!
    Mon, L for Laughter, go on it cheers us all up doing it or hearing it.
    Tues M for Mother only one for everyone.
    Weds N is for Naughty but nice!
    Thurs O is for Obligation, ones duty to fellow beings.
    Friday P is for Proper (correct, just, suitable)
    Sat Q is for Quality we all have some!

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  August 17, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    you lovely, lovely people you! Glad the dear word has so many fans :o)

    Anita – ‘nadgers’ – isn’t that rude, or does it mean something different in Wales?

    Mal – now you mention it …!

    Nic – glad you’re enjoying the A-Z. So much I could be writing about the garden right now but hey ho …

    Catherine – you’re welcome any time :o) I’ve only seen him twice in a few months so obviously can’t predict when you might happen upon him/her. Makes it all the more special when he/she does put in an appearance. I’d like to know what happened to his tail though :o(

    PapaG – I should get you to guest post – I’m running a day behind! Great choice of words.

    Reply
  • 8. Nic's Husband  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Loud – especially when I play the drums

    Reply
  • 9. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Lovely asparagus shot there too!

    If I may be selfish, my L is for Laura, a dear friend who we lost recently, although she will always be with us in some way.

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 6:50 am

    G – Billy agrees (from behind the sofa!)

    Fiona – it’s my neighbours asparagus and the envy of the whole plot.

    Not selfish at all and glad my lovely post reminded you of Laura. It’s important to remember and talk about dear friends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,834 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

