N is for …

August 18, 2011 at 11:19 am 6 comments

… nicknames.
I don’t recall when G first called me Nic Noodle. Or Noodle Doodle.  Or Winkle. .Or Doris.
Or more recently, and said with great affection I assure you, Hippopotowhale (I’ll explain that one another time!).  I always thought nicknames were taunting and unkind having spent years as a child being called knickers (thank goodness that one stayed in the primary school playground!). It’s entirely different when a loved one chooses a name for you and there are always smiles and laughter when G creates or uses a new one.

Do you have any nicknames?
(you only have to share the smile cracking ones)
.
.
©  Noodle Doodles image found here

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

M is for … O is for …

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic's Husband  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Nice – bit like your L is for lovely post – I use it to describe a certain someone far too much. This alphabet series has made me realise how little control of the English language I have these days!

    Reply
  • 2. P is for … « Nip it in the bud  |  August 19, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    […] pregnant. Which explains the lack of gardening, cooking and blogging (and G’s new nickname). 20 weeks today   baby apparently the length of a banana from head to […]

    Reply
  • 3. Nic's Husband  |  August 28, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    naughty – something I often am – much to Nic’s amusement

    Reply
  • 5. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 10:56 am

    This one is hard.

    I have a few friends that call me Kick Arse, although not for bad reasons, but another friend has the same name and she was nicknamed fluffy, they wanted to differentiate, and at the time I did martial arts! I suppose these days my nickname is Fiona Mayhem. I like your nicknames better.

    My N will have to befor new. I have been trying a lot of new recipes, and cooking techniques. I am also looking for pastures new, having decided to quit my job.

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 6:43 am

      so you’re the friend to have close to hand when walking down dark alleys {wink}.
      All the best with the new career direction

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,705 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

