O is for …

August 19, 2011 at 5:12 am 5 comments

… optimist.  ‘Each day, hope anew’.
A friend sent us this ‘Angel of Hope’ when we were having a difficult time earlier in the year.
It reminded me of a quote that has become a bit of a mantra for me over the years.

”When the World says
‘give up’,
Hope whispers
‘try it one more time’.

I’m a sunny-side-up kind of girl but in times past my optimism has been left in tatters by holding on to painful past experiences and worrying intensely that my worst fears would become a reality at some point in the future.

On reflection, I suspect I cultivated a habit of seeing the good in all things simply to make the world a less frightening place!  Who knows how and why we develop certain personality traits?  All I know is that being optimistic and cheery makes my life more enjoyable, helps me to create the future I want and not the one I fear and impacts more positively on those around me.
”It’s not the load that breaks you down: it’s the way you carry it” – Lena Horne

©  Angel of Hope by Demdaco. 
Hands image with thanks to D Sharon Pruitt (many more fab free pictures here)

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

N is for … P is for …

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maureen  |  August 19, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I just wanted to let you know that I look forward to your posts every day among all the dross in my inbox and am really enjoying them and getting to know you better through them.

    Reply
  • 2. Nic's Husband  |  August 28, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    O dear, I can’t think of one for O, will this do?

    Reply
  • 3. Nic's Husband  |  August 28, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Just thought of one. ONLINE – wonder how much of our time alive we have spent online so far? Maybe 10% in the past 4 or 5 years?

    Reply
  • 4. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 11:01 am

    As always, your word for today is a great one.

    My O is for organic gardening. I don’t like intensive growing methods, although the pest control aspect can sometimes be a bit grim.

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Maureen – thank you so much. It’s always lovely to hear from people are quietly reading along with me every day.

    G – O, why not {wink}. On-line’s very true of both of us – if you discount sleep time though I’d say 30% is more likely in the last few years. I think that will change come January!

    Fiona – home-made organic plant feeds stink don’t they and I’d really rather not eat greens with white fly on but hey ho, better than chemicals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,336 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

