Q is for …

August 22, 2011 at 7:34 am 15 comments

… quite a lot of things really!  But mostly mad about Quotes.

I began jotting down uplifting quotes and snippets of wisdom in a notebook as a teenager.  I continued to do so until my early 30’s when life took an unexpected turn and stress began to crush my sense of balance and perspective.  Discovering my notebook about a year ago it felt right to throw it away.  I still love quotes but rather than look them up in a book, nod ‘how nice’ sagely and put it back on the shelf I felt it was time to be brave and live the wisdom that touched my heart. 

Courage does not always roar.  Courage is the small voice at the end of the day that says, ‘‘I will try again tomorrow – Mary Anne Radmacher

“It is better to take many small steps in the right direction than to make a great leap forward only to stumble backward.” – Old Chinese proverb

“Three Rules of Work: Out of clutter find simplicity; From discord find harmony; In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.” – Albert Einstein


Success is not final, failure is not fatal: It is the courage to continue that counts’ – Winston Churchill

“Dance like nobody’s watching; love like you’ve never been hurt.
Sing like nobody’s listening; live like it’s heaven on earth.”
– Mark Twain

Q’s that got away … quirky, quiet, quizzical, quick (in an efficient way not on two legs!).

© Roar‘ by Erica Marshall of muddyboots.org, Jumping Monks’ by Matthieu Ricard,  Success Persevere, Live Simple by Katie@!, ‘Pavorotti’ by Maarcell,

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

P is for … R is for …

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anita  |  August 22, 2011 at 11:46 am

    If you don’t stop writing such really good blog posts I’m going to have to buy a special noticeboard on which to pin them all 8-D xxx

    Reply
  • 2. Everlovin' Dad  |  August 22, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Quest….as is your allotment

    Reply
  • 3. chutneyandspice  |  August 22, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I love your quotes, so lovely and thought provoking, especially the courage one. I’ve just had a quick flick through the blog it looks so lovely. I’m not a million miles from you, I live near Malmesbury in Wiltshire. I’ll look forward to reading more in the future, and good luck with the pregnancy, lovely news.

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  August 22, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Anita – you’re too kind :o)

    Dad – so since you’ve often been by my side during this year’s quest what does that make you?

    chutneyandspice – thanks for stopping by Alex and for the congrats. Pregnancy has certainly put paid to my love of eating all things sour but I’m still making chutney this year knowing it will be all the better for leaving it until next year to eat! Your apricot and ginger recipe looks delicious.

    Reply
  • 5. Joanna  |  August 22, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    ‘Iron while the Iron’s hot! ‘ A remarkably profound quote from the inimitable Miranda.

    xx Joana

    Reply
  • 6. anenthusiast  |  August 23, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Flippin’ wonderful news, Mrs! Just been doing a post-hols catch-up on my missed-out NIITB posts, and lookee what wonderment there was to see. Babies! Awesome.

    Reply
  • 7. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  August 24, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Thought provoking. Easy to read, harder to internalise, and even harder to live by, those quotes.

    Reply
  • 8. Bren  |  August 25, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    ~ Quite uplifting are your blogs.
    I am loving reading your alphabetti’s x

    Reply
  • 9. Lynne  |  August 25, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Particularly like the last (Mark Twain) one. You’re very good at writing uplifting stuff and I need to absorb some of it. Thanks for your lovely comments on my blog, by the way.

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  August 26, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    Joanna – Miranda’s hilarious

    anenthusiast – awesomeness of gigantic proportions if I do say so myself 😮

    Janet – hard but worth the effort trying

    Bren – I’m pleased to hear that

    Lynne – thank you and you’re welcome

    Reply
  • 11. Johanna GGG  |  August 27, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I loved writing down quotes too when I was younger but it is not something I have time for now – though I think there is a quote book somewhere in the house still – something about the pithiness and cleverness of them always delights me

    Reply
    • 12. Nip it in the bud  |  August 28, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      I think letting go of my books was made easier by having such easy access to wisdom on the web now. I love quotes with images even more :o)

      Reply
  • 13. Nic's Husband  |  August 28, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Quality – that’s my Q – it describes so much about you in particular

    Reply
  • 14. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 11:10 am

    What an insightful thing to do when you were young. If I could go back in time, I would tell my younger self to do something similar.

    My Q is for quick – which is what I have to be to get the tomatoes in before the blight sets in. Haven’t managed that one yet. I can also be Quick to anger (although luckily also quick to calm down again) and quick witted. And, as with gardeners everywhere, have worked my fingers to the quick on more than one ocassion.

    Reply
  • 15. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 6:31 am

    G – people will begin to think I’m putting you up to this!

    Fiona – it’s never too late to start! Huge shame about the tomatoes (I recall my utter devastation the year the blight struck here).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 442,821 hits

Archives

Instagram

Someone was excited to find friends have come to stay. "Help Mummy and Daddy decorate the Christmas tree" is the #kindnesselves first suggestion.
.
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife E found his playgroup Angel Gabriel costume and photo from 2 years ago and found it amusing how much his arms had grown! 
#angelgabriel #christmasnativity 
#gloucesterlife It snowed all day and we were indoors with poorly boys (they had a 15 minute  play in the yard at least). This is what the allotment is probably looking like (#onefromthearchives January 2013). #nipitinthebudblog #snowyallotment #allotmentgardening #newblogpost - an @oxouk stocking fillers gift guide .  The steel jigger is our absolute favourite this year :0)
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #oxogoodgrips #cookingwithkidsisfun #avocadoslicer #steeljiggers #stainlesssteeltongs #icecreamscoop #bakersdustingwand  #oxouk E's birthday is about 3 weeks after Christmas so I always start thinking about his celebrations around this time.  We've decided to book the community hall at our local cafe like we did a few years ago.  His 3rd birthday cake and jungle themed food will be a hard act to follow and he's chosen Dr Seuss for his theme so goodness knows what sort of cake we'll pull out the bag for this one! #birthdaycake #birthdaypartyfood #nipitinthebudblog #willywonkacake Rather intrigued by these!!!! @Regranned from @marksandspencer -  Introducing the avocado you never knew you needed. Our new cocktail avocados don’t have a stone and are completely edible (yes including the skin) In stores now in limited supply. 🥑🥑🥑 - #regrann
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

