R is for …

August 28, 2011 at 8:47 pm 5 comments

… reading.
‘Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counsellors, and the most patient of teachers.’ ~ Charles William Eliot, The Happy Life.

I couldn’t imagine living in a house with books.  G loves fiction and I love finding things out so we have a very varied collection of books.  We also have many childrens’ books from my days with the Library Service and I love nothing more than curling up on the sofa to read them with little ones.  The Gruffalo is a firm favourite of ours and we’d just introduced it to our nephew and niece when this picture was snapped on my phone in 2008.  Fast forward to last week when Tom and Kim were in England for their annual summer holiday and it’s still the first book they reach for at bedtime.  The only difference now is that Tom reads it to us.

© ‘We read’ image here

Entry filed under: A-Z challenge, home life.

Q is for … S is for …

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nic's Husband  |  August 28, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    ditto – READ for me too – currently working my way through George RR Martin’s books for the 3rd time

    Reply
  • 2. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  August 29, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Hard to beat reading for the gift that keeps on giving. We were chatting over the weekend about that wonderful stage when you get old enough to be able to grab a book and go off and read it by yourself, wrapped in your own little world. The down side is that I can get very grumpy when hauled out of my word by “real” world intrusions… “Gruffalo” is wonderful.

    Reply
  • 3. fiona mayhem  |  August 30, 2011 at 11:12 am

    I tend to read all my things online these days, especially blogs.

    My R is for recipes, and remembering to measure out stuff for them, as I try to write them down for my blog. Not very easy, because I do almost everything by eye, and always have.

    Reply
  • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2011 at 6:28 am

    G – if I wasn’t such a book worm myself your devouring of books (especially the wrong side of bedtime) would annoy me {wink}

    Janet – the image of a grumpy ‘time to stop reading’ moment tickled me, thanks for sharing it.

    Fiona – Recipes is a good one and I can’t wait to see you start sharing yours. Go on, you know you want to…

    Reply
  • 5. Johanna GGG  |  September 11, 2011 at 7:48 am

    I love books – we are surrounded by piles of them that don’t fit in the shelves – and while I can have enough discipline to not buy sylvia new toys I can’t resist a new book for her – bought her three this weekend – though have never got into the gruffalo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 422,184 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

