making oat biscuits

September 30, 2011 at 8:09 am 9 comments

I’ve been having a bit of a clear out and unearthed an old 1986 Dairy Diary with all sorts of recipe clippings stuck inside.  I couldn’t resist this Oat Biscuit recipe to satisfy a little Sunday afternoon sweet-something itch.   The recipe made about 20 biscuit size bites and although they would have kept fresh in an airtight container for 3 days they were all gone by the time I got home from work on Monday evening.  Since I’d hidden them well out of reach of Billy, our anything-sweet loving cat, I think we know who polished them off …

What you need to make oat biscuits
(10 mins prep time, 15 mins cooking time)

1 egg beaten
1 tbsp (15ml) honey
100g (4 oz) vegetable margarine/butter
100g (4oz) light brown sugar
100g (4oz) self-raising flour
75g (3 oz) rolled oats
a mixing bowl, spoon, 1 or more lightly greased baking sheets

  • Pre-heat the oven to 190c/375F/gas mark 5.
  • Mix all ingredients together thoroughly.
  • Spoon heaped teaspoon sized balls on to the baking sheet, leaving about half an inch between them to spread.
  • Bake for 15 minutes in pre-heated oven
  • Allow to cool slightly, then transfer to a cooling rack
Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

Y is for … Z is for …

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  September 30, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Nic, your biscuits look exactly like ones my mum used to make when i was young. You might just have uncovered a childhood favourite of mine – Thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. anitanee  |  September 30, 2011 at 11:23 am

    This takes me back. My Mum used to make these (or some very similar) – and we always used to have the Dairy Diary – I can almost taste them now x

    Reply
  • 3. Lynne  |  September 30, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    Ooh, they look yummy, Nic! I’m going to have to make some now! George is off to buy a fruit press, as we’ve got more apples offered, so more scrumpy! :o)

    Reply
    • 4. Lynne  |  September 30, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      Just eaten one warm, yum! Nice and quick, especially if you get your hands in and mix and shape biccies by hand. Added a bit of ginger, cinnamon would also be nice, or syrup instead of honey – endless possibilities from one recipe. Lovely though, thanks for another fab recipe, Nic. Just wish my gas oven didn’t burn the bums of everything at the back!

      Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  October 2, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Julie – for years I’ve tried to make ‘healthy’ oat biscuits/flapjacks and they’re always a disappointment. These really hit the spot.

    Anita – we used to get our Dairy Diary from the Milkman and I felt ever so grown up the year one appeared in my stocking from Santa.

    Lynne – you’re right, countless variations. I like them with raisins and coconut. Glad yours turned out well.

    Reply
  • 6. Shaheen  |  October 5, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    When I was a child, my uncle in B’ham would often bring us a tub of biscuits and amongst the collection were these delights. I would often be found tippy toeining and putting my hands in the bicuit barrel and pinching these. If I could I would stick my hand in the computer screen and pinch one!

    I am so looking forward to making these.

    Reply
    • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  October 6, 2011 at 4:02 am

      it’s wonderful how food can evoke such strong memories. I always think of visits to my nan and grandads when I eat boiled eggs with soldiers!

      Reply
      • 8. Mel (Formerly Fiona Mayhem)  |  January 3, 2012 at 3:12 am

        Indeed it is, Nic. These were the very first things I used to cook. After the plates had been washed up following the Sunday Roast, while the rest of the family were snoozing in front of Eastenders. Thanks for sharing this. Happy Memories.

  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  January 3, 2012 at 10:42 am

    my pleasure Mel :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,240 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

