wordless wednesday

October 19, 2011 at 10:10 am 14 comments


(aka ‘how not to make damson jam’… putting the lid on to speed up the boiling and then foolishly nipping to the loo!)

Entry filed under: in the kitchen, wordless wednesday.

simple suppers stringing onions

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanna  |  October 19, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Noooooooooo!

    Reply
  • 2. Joanna  |  October 19, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Should have left a variety of sympathetic emoticons too. Sad, tragic, the wince, the worried look, shall I help you clear it up? xxx

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  October 19, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    fortunately the jam was salvageable. The pan didn’t fare so well and I had to take a knife to the caramelised bottom over several days of soaking before it was reasonably clean again. As for the jam that seeped into the drawers and oven… actually, let’s not talk about that!

    Reply
  • 4. Everlovin' Dad  |  October 19, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    I’ve told you before dear,
    if you are ever in a jam, we can help!
    (Bit late now though innit !!)

    Reply
  • 5. maureen  |  October 19, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    oh dear! I know the smell, (though possibly not as bad as my melted golden syrup down the back of the gas oven on to the burner?)

    Reply
  • 6. Lynne  |  October 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    Eek! I can only say I’m so-o glad you saved the jam – much more important than the pan x ;o)

    Reply
  • 7. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  October 19, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    Eugh, that does not look like a fun clean-up…

    Reply
  • 8. plummymummy  |  October 20, 2011 at 8:48 am

    oh no! I feel your pain as I’ve just moved to a house with an induction hob and it’s resulted in many burnt pans 😦

    Reply
  • 9. Ruth  |  October 20, 2011 at 10:53 am

    oops! Is it bad to say that I find it encouraging that sometimes things like that happen to you too? Not a fun clean up though 😦

    Reply
  • 10. Ruth  |  October 20, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I also love the fact that you thought to go and get the camera!

    Reply
  • 11. Nip it in the bud  |  October 20, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Dad – I think calling you over to clean up my mess would have been pushing the bounds of your generosity a bit far!

    Maureen – eek, burnt syrup, I can conjure up the smell just thinking about it

    Lynne – a stock pot probably wasn’t the best choice of pan but as I’d doubled up the ingredients it was the only one big enough (10L)

    Janet – it wasn’t, bending over a bump is not a comfy activity!

    Plummy – I’d be burning everything too since I don’t actually know what an induction hob is! All the best with settling in to your new pad and thanks for stopping by to say hello

    Roo – I have moments of brilliance granted (wink) but there’s a healthy measure of chaos that lurks on top of the cupboards waiting to pounce!
    As for the camera, it was on the table having taken pics of the ingredients before starting to cook. The damage was done by the time I came down the stairs so I thought I might as well capture the rather mad smoke. As it was I had to fan the smoke alarm with a tea towel for 10 minutes to deactivate it before I could start the clean up!

    Reply
  • 12. Words Of Deliciousness  |  October 26, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Oh no, don’t you hate that when things like that happen.

    Reply
  • 13. wellywoman  |  November 1, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Whoops. I completely sympathise. I have been known to put something on the hob and then go off to do something else only to be alerted by the smell of burning. At least you could salvage the jam but I don’t envy the cleaning up.

    Reply
  • 14. Nip it in the bud  |  November 3, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    ah yes, that unmistakeable smell of burning. It’s usually porridge or rice here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,240 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

