stringing onions

October 26, 2011 at 7:29 am 6 comments

I planted my onions in March this year having had a failed crop last year when I overwintered them.  Four rows of sets planted, four rows of lovely onions lifted – a great relief as some of my near neighbours on the plot lost several rows to onion rot this year (a nasty fungal disease that renders the soil useless for growing onions again for at least 8 years

I pulled all of my onions up one sunny July afternoon and as we don’t have anywhere to dry them out at home I created a make shift drying store at the allotment using a mini greenhouse frame and plastic sheeting.  There my onions basked for about a month before I hauled them home to create my onion strings.

I didn’t have a clue about how to string onions but thanks to the school of YouTube this brilliant 5 minute video taught me everything I needed to know.  My teacher was a charming old boy called Jack Hargreaves who featured in a number of ‘Old Country‘ episodes for Channel 4 in the 1980’s.

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

wordless wednesday wordless wednesday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  October 26, 2011 at 7:52 am

    What a fabulous video – and I love his comment about wire-bottomed trays being better…

    Reply
  • 2. Lynne  |  October 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    What lovely onions, lucky you! They do look fab in strings. I’ve told George to look at the video too :o)

    Reply
  • 3. PapaG  |  October 26, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    ahhhh! she knows her onions.
    papagxx

    Reply
  • 4. 5olly  |  October 26, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    I met Jack Hargreaves once. He was well impressed with my Jack Russel called Jenny when I went out ferreting. Good times

    Reply
  • 5. Ruth  |  October 27, 2011 at 6:25 am

    They look lovely and yummy, makes me sad that I need to go shopping and buy some

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  October 30, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Janet – I love the way he talks about everyone in the family having a job to do and his was stringing onions. You know you’re going to be successful following instructions mastered by a 7 year old!

    Lynne – so simple and effect and rather relaxing the whole stringing process

    PapaG – well I was certainly glad of a good crop this year to need to string them!

    5olly – who’d have thought a bunch of onions could invoke such fond memories. Thanks for sharing them.

    Ruth – maybe next year for growing your own? Sets are a good size for little hands to plant …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,240 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

