wordless wednesday

November 16, 2011 at 2:29 pm 10 comments

Entry filed under: allotment tales, wordless wednesday.

sowing green manure if you thought this year’s radishes were big …

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nip it in the bud  |  November 16, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    what is it with growing radishes?
    I plant a couple of rows every year, forget they’re there and then end up digging out tough turnip like balls the size of an apple!
    Thanks to Joanna though for the lovely multi-coloured seed packet. I’ll be more diligent next year I promise!

    Reply
  • 2. greg becker  |  November 16, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    my comment was going to be ‘unbeetable!’ but on second thoughts
    I think we are talking turnips so maybe it should be ‘nips in the bud?’

    Reply
  • 3. Choclette  |  November 16, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Oh, but they look so pretty. Are they really inedible – thinking they might be a bit like turnips and good in curries or something?

    Reply
  • 4. frogsandferns  |  November 16, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    Mmm, these look delicious! Have you been watching the Great British Food Revival?
    Dan
    -x-

    Reply
  • 5. FEARN  |  November 16, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    Yes, my most successfull year for radishes – and no one will eat them….

    Reply
  • 6. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  November 17, 2011 at 7:02 am

    That’s quite a collection – shame they never taste quite as good at this end of the season.

    Reply
  • 7. Rufus  |  November 17, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Call that a radish?
    Oh !

    Reply
  • 8. Shaheen  |  November 17, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Monster radishes.

    Reply
  • 9. Nina  |  November 17, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Blimey – they are huge!

    Can’t wait to get growing some myself.

    take care,

    Nina x

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  November 18, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Greg – nice one

    Choclette – they probably would have been alright grated into salad but they were a little to fiery for my heartburn to be able to handle (ditto curry). And I just can’t get my head around cooking a radish (just like I can’t understand the idea of eating chilled soup!)

    Dan – I haven’t. Do they have giant veg on there?

    Fearn – I do actually like them I just forget they’re there. Hopefully you like them a lot then if no-one else will help you finish them…

    Janet – I’m determined to sow, grow and eat them next year. I may even have to put a reminder on the calender so I don’t leave lifting them until October

    Rufus – more like a tennis ball!

    Shaheen – you said it!

    Nina – one for the list for your new allotment space

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,834 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

