It’s Stir Up Sunday

November 20, 2011 at 1:13 pm 5 comments

It’s that time of year again; the last Sunday before Advent and traditionally the day for making your Christmas pudding.  I have other plans for today and will be postponing baking until I finish work in 3 weeks time.  As I’m breaking with the timing tradition I thought I’d make Christmas cake instead of puddings this year.  

I’ve been inspired by Jules’ post about making mini Christmas cakes in small baked bean tins.  Of course there’s planning and then there’s doing when you have a big belly to navigate but all being well I’ll be letting you know how I got in a month or so.

©  Image with thanks to Jules at Butcher, Baker

Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

if you thought this year’s radishes were big … last harvest

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanna  |  November 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    LOL ! Some twitter friends and I rebelled yesterday and opted for Sit down Sunday instead, and then thought we ‘d go for Maybe Monday and so on… you get the idea. Was going to say I am making our boiled fruit cake for our Christmas cake this year, it only needs to sit around for about a week to get some flavour in it and it’s lovely and sticky and never dry like some Christmas cakes are. Mini cakes are the way to go for sure! And I’m skipping pudding making, if someone wants one I will go and buy one. x Joanna

    Reply
  • 2. Nina  |  November 21, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Gosh they do look good.

    Nina x

    ps. thanks for the info I will check it out.

    Nina x

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  November 21, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    Joanna – I ate cake on my sit down Sunday – does that count?
    Making puddings can be a real labour of love when there are some really lovely shop bought ones out there.

    Nina – hopefully mine will look as good when I get round to making them!

    Reply
  • 4. Shaheen  |  November 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I am liking his idea as Christmas may not be celebrated on a big scale in our home again this year. So I am off to check out the recipe.

    Reply
    • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  November 23, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      Christmas cake used to last for weeks after the festive period as no one was really fussed about it. Apart from my younger brother who happily worked through 90% of it. I’m looking forward to making these to give as edible gifts. Like you say, perfect for small scale celebrations.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,234 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

