perfect roasties

November 29, 2011 at 10:16 am 11 comments

My laptop is in a coma awaiting a miracle from George to bring it round and retrieve everything (praying fervently that all is not lost!).   So the only photo I have to share is this one, still on my camera from the weekend.  These perfect roasties, crispy outsides and fluffy insides, were the last of our favourite Robinta potatoes.  We savoured every last crispy crumb and vowed to dedicate a larger part of the plot to our spuds next year.

Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

having a bump at the allotment Advent at Gloucester Cathedral

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bilbo  |  November 29, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Yummy …….

    Reply
  • 2. Johanna GGG  |  November 29, 2011 at 11:22 am

    good luck with laptop – glad you have the comfort of roasties!

    Reply
  • 3. Hazel at the Hill  |  November 29, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    What fat did you roast these in?? I could eat them right off the screen!

    Good idea for next year to devote a bit more room to delicious spuds – being a plant-and-forget crop will come in handy too, as you are likely to be quite tied up with other things!

    Reply
    • 4. nic@nipitinthebud  |  November 30, 2011 at 9:38 am

      Hi Hazel, I use sunflower oil.

      Yep, I shall be setting potato farmer George to work next year while baby and I bimble about the plot at leisure! (no not really, I can’t help myself when I’m down there, I just have to get my hands mucky so I’m sure we shall both enjoy a bit of digging and cuddling swapping)

      Reply
  • 5. idiosyncratic eye  |  November 30, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Ah, the pursuit of perfect roasties is something of an obsession in this house, these look wonderful. Hope your laptop can be ‘resurrected’! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Nina  |  November 30, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I love a good roastie and the best so far….yet….have been the spuds we’ve grown down the allotment.

    Nina xxx

    ps. two weeks after Christmas – I bet you are mega excited. Take care – N xxx

    Reply
  • 7. nic@nipitinthebud  |  November 30, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    idiosynchratic eye – thanks for the compliment and laptop well wishes

    Nina – I’m sure that’s part of the secret: home-grown spuds.
    Yep very excited to be nearly down to the last month. And who knows we may not have to wait as long as we think!

    Reply
  • 8. peggy  |  December 3, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Hi Nic, those spuds look mouth watering! I htought they may have been done in goose fat but scrolling down the comments I was surprised to see they had been done with sunflower oil!
    I hope the laptop is up and running soon.

    Reply
    • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  December 4, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      Hi Peggy, it’s the wonder of Robinta spuds. When you par-boil them they go a bit crumbly round the edges but as soon as the oil is added and they begin to roast up they go crispy. So lovely.

      G’s managed to retrieve my photos and docs just my address book that seems to be lost in the ether. So all happily sitting on a drive waiting to be transferred when laptop fixed.

      Reply
  • 10. Misk Cooks  |  December 5, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Absolutely beautiful! Now I’m yearning for some with dinner tonight.

    Reply
  • 11. Lynne  |  December 6, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Ooh, yummy! I think we’ll have to try Robinta’s next year.

    If you get to the point of wanting to hurry the little bundle along a bit, raspberry leaf tea helped my daughter with both hers – she did drink quite a lot of it though! ;o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,681 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

