Christmas come early … what a treat

December 12, 2011 at 6:48 am 29 comments

Now before you get too excited, this isn’t an ‘early Christmas baby’ news post!
Feel free to get very excited about the opportunity to win some delicious chocolate goodies for Christmas though.  The lovely folk at Hotel Chocolat offered me some samples from their Christmas Gifts collection to review and let me choose 3 stocking fillers rather than one of their usual deluxe items.  ‘Lucky you‘ I hear you cry but I could be saying ‘Lucky you‘ if you leave a comment on this post because Hotel Chocolat have generously offered to share the chocolate love with 3 of my  readers. More about how to take part later… here’s what you could win (as if simply hearing the words ‘chocolate giveaway’ isn’t persuasion enough!)

Mulled Wine Cherries
succulent cherries soaked in fortified wine spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, then enrobed in thick dark chocolate and almond chips.

Absolutely delicious and since liquer filled chocolates have always come out as favourites in previous reviews you’ll not want to miss these if you like something a bit boozy.  You could even kid yourself it’s a healthy option with their lovely fruity centre!

Alternative mince pies
Small enough to pop in your mouth whole and sigh as the crispy chocolate shell melts away to reveal the silky salted caramel centre. A sweet and salt combo seems almost counter to a fantastic taste experience and yet… salted caramels have also been a previous review fave.

Rendered somewhat speechless after sampling these!


Chocolate Yule log with chilli and almond
A gorgeous new twist to a centuries old tradition created to slice and share at the Christmas table, over coffee or as a dessert. Silky smooth gianduja praline with zesty orange sticks, crunchy almonds and gently warming chilli.

Our friend Jules helped sample the yule log (‘mmm delicious, very Christmassy’).
Her poor nut allergy suffering husband Andy could only look on as we sucked and sighed our way through slice after slice.

Tempted to take part in the giveaway?
Simply leave a comment and include which of the three items reviewed you’d like to receive if your lucky number comes up.
You have until Friday 16th December to leave a comment after which a random number generator will be used to select the 3 lucky winners.  If you’re one of them I’ll contact you over the weekend for your address details so the goodies can be posted out in time for Christmas (only open to UK residents I’m afraid).

Oh, and just when you thought it couldn’t get any better the person whose number is drawn first will receive the best selling Classic Christmas Selection Sleekster Box rather than a stocking filler.  Christmas come early indeed!

Entry filed under: away from the plot, reviews.

Advent at Gloucester Cathedral Winners of the Hotel Chocolat Giveaway

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stu  |  December 12, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Hi nic, I was mad for the cherries, but Ju over ruled me with the yule log, and to be fair, chocolate is her domain, her bi monthly tasting selection were cancelled a while ago, so this is possibly an alternative. Love Stu

    Reply
  • 2. idiosyncratic eye  |  December 12, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Sadly in this house we don’t believe chocolate is just for Christmas! But we’d force ourselves to try anything, once, for the sake of duty and that log looks like it needs company. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. BilboWaggins  |  December 12, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Dribbling all over keyboard. Stops to get cloth and bib . . .

    OK back now …

    Mmmm, can’t decide between Yule Log or Mincepies ….. a moment on the lips, another inch on the hips?

    Reply
  • 4. Lynne  |  December 12, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Ooh, exciting! A very hard decision, but please could I go in the draw for the alternative mince pies. They’re making me drool, as were the cherries! :oP

    Reply
  • 5. Rufus  |  December 12, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Not easy with my taste buds, need at least three of each before they touch the sides for flavour recognition, but I would log into the almond choice provided the chilli is in the background.

    Reply
  • 6. Gary John Moorey  |  December 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    I will end up with the big belly like Nic if I start on this lot but they do look very tempting any samples for family members, I can do a swap for some twin sockets and cable, I think you should start a Doggie Treat section as well, looking forward to the big event in January, have a good evening, love from the Renhold Moorey’s xxx

    Reply
  • 7. Catherine  |  December 12, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Oh wow!!!

    (and I must confess that, yes, I did think this was baby news 😉 )

    Those mince pies look absolutely amazing! If they were to arrive on my doorstep I think all my Christmases would come at one, never mind just early!!

    Reply
  • 8. Merci  |  December 12, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Nic, your descriptions are so scrumptious we hardly need any photos! May I please beg the cherries for my dear old Mum? x

    Reply
  • 9. Choclette  |  December 12, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Nic, what a dilemma. I have to choose only one? Oh, the cherries looks so good and the log sounds lovely, but I think the mince pies sound the most intriguing so I think I’d plump for them.

    I’ve just had a rather hideous tasting experience – a box of chocs sent to be for review which were almost inedible. So I really need something yummy and something I can trust to take the edge of that experience. I shall cross fingers!

    Reply
  • 10. Natalie Newham  |  December 12, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Oooh, the Alternative mince pies look divine! – Hotel Chocolat are absolutely brilliant for coming up with new ideas.

    Hope everyone has a Happy Christmas 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Joanna  |  December 12, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I would love the cherries! I hope you are having a good time and have hung up those wellies and are relaxing a bit ! x Joanna

    Reply
  • 12. maureen  |  December 12, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    mmm, they all look so good!
    but you can make your own cherries and mince pies you can have too many of, the yule log however sounds perfect…
    enjoy Christmas x

    Reply
  • 13. Jasmin  |  December 13, 2011 at 9:56 am

    What tantalising Christmas treats and who says window shopping should just be reserved for clothes! The cherries look delicious 🙂 x

    Reply
  • 14. Shaheen  |  December 13, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    OOh lucky you.

    I’d certainly love to try all of them, but think the alternative mince pies would be my first choice.

    PS I am entering this for my lovely husband x but if he wins, I know I will get to try some too.

    Reply
  • 15. Rhian  |  December 13, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Chocolate mince pies? Why have I never thought of that?! Genius.

    Reply
  • 16. El  |  December 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Mulled wine cherries please!! x

    Reply
  • 17. catloiscat  |  December 13, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum!! I think these delicious specimens would all go down extremely well in our household!! The most tempting and long enough to share with a bit of fun…I think the chocolate yule log I would choose with the chillie and almond… what a cosy warming combination for this current Cold winter spell… XX

    Reply
  • 18. papa G  |  December 13, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    CHOC-U-LIKE to coin a phrase or CHOC-I-LIKE!
    They look good enough to melt you away, any of the selection would be nice.

    Reply
  • 19. Everlovin' Dad  |  December 14, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    So what’s with papa G, nearly midnight last night, can’t sleep thinking of chocolate! quite right though, all look good, but then chocolate mince pies. but where do you put

    Reply
  • 20. Janice Papworth  |  December 14, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    I’d love to win the alternative mince pies – that sweet/salty combination sounds delicious!

    Reply
  • 21. Sue  |  December 15, 2011 at 7:13 am

    Mulled wine cherries would be my favourite! What a great job being taster! Have a peaceful Christmas.

    Reply
  • 22. allotofveg  |  December 15, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Chocolate cherries sound yum – maybe there will be lots on the trees in 2012 and I can chocolte them myself?
    Hope bump is behaving.
    J

    Reply
  • 23. Vic McManus  |  December 15, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    Purely for the fact that you were: “Rendered somewhat speechless after sampling these!” I would humbly kneel down before those mince pies and offer my mouth at their service…

    Reply
  • 24. Ali Wright  |  December 16, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    ooooh chocolate mince pies!! Heavenly! Yes Please father Christmas. Ali

    Reply
  • 25. Leo Saunders  |  December 16, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Mmm – I adore chocolate!
    Good for the endorphins – no good for dolphins.

    Reply
  • 26. Bren  |  December 16, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Those 3 stocking fillers look divine! I would choose the alternative mince pies though if I was lucky enough to win

    Reply
  • 27. Ali Walker  |  December 16, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    So cool and they all look gorgeous because as you know I am a chocoholic!! I must say that the mince pie ones look best to me!!

    Reply
  • 28. A Latifa  |  December 16, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Out of chocolate tonight and now this makes my mouth water even more!! Though the cherries sound the most delicious i could not resist to try the mince pies 😉 hope its me and the postage is FAST 😉

    Reply
  • 29. peggy  |  December 16, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    Hi Nic, I hope I am just in the nick of time to get my name on that list?! I am not fussy if my name comes up everything looks delicious and I could not possibly chose one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

