making an easy peasy bread and butter pudding

January 10, 2012 at 7:25 pm 10 comments

What’s not to love about edible gifts? This Christmas we received a Pannetone loaf from our friends Dan and Ruth and very successfully scoffed most of it between the two of us (lovely thick wedges slathered with butter for breakfast or a cheeky afternoon snack) and then forgot about the last quarter once it found it’s way into the cake tin for safe keeping.  So when I did happen across it and found it looking a bit dry and forlorn refashioning it as  a bread and butter pudding seemed obvious.

It must be a good 15 years or so since I last ate bread and butter pudding and I’ve certainly never made it so I did a little googling to see what other ingredients were needed and compared that with I had available.   Alas no double cream, so I simply layered slices of buttered pannetone in a dish, sprinkled with extra raisins and cinnamon, and poured over a mugful of milk with 2 eggs and a table spoon of sugar whisked into it and baked it for half and hour at 180°c.
Simple.  Delicious.  Lovely cold the next day too.

You’ve probably guessed that with all this baking and time to blog there’s little to report in the bump-to-baby department.  At least I’ve been able to replenish stocks of Chocolate dipped Flapjacks and if we can ration ourselves to one a day I’d hope baby appears before the empty bottom of the cake tin does!

Entry filed under: in the kitchen.

making Nigel Slater’s Festive Chocolate Flapjacks soul cheering sunshine and sprouts

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BilboWaggins  |  January 10, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    Cold B&B pudding is an excellent breakfast. You’ve got carbohydrates, fruit, some dairy and egg – what’s not to like?

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth  |  January 10, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Very nice, you’re so creative. I’m glad our gift had multi purposes x

    Reply
  • 3. Alison  |  January 11, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Mmmm.. they both look yummy! Baby sure likes being in Mummy’s tummy, nice and warm I expect.

    Reply
    • 4. Lynne  |  January 11, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      Ooh, I love bread and butter pudding, and as I’m in permanent pain with toothache at the moment, nice and comforting. I make it quite often and it’s one of my faves.Think I’ll make some later. It’s almost Seville orange time, and when we’ve made the marmalade, I’ll do a B & B pudding with marmalade.

      I think your little one likes all the flavours you’re passing on and doesn’t realise he/she will still be able to get them in the outside world. :o)

      Reply
  • 5. Catherine  |  January 11, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    My Gran used to make an amazing B&B pudding, but unfortunately she never shared the recipe before she died. Still, it always makes me think of her – the simple puds are the best!!

    Reply
  • 6. Everlovin' Dad  |  January 11, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    After the visit today to you of us your mum and dad, I’d bet that the flapjacks and the dark chocolate could be all gone by your bed-time!

    Reply
  • 7. Nina  |  January 12, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    Chocolate and flapjacks – delish!

    Nina x

    Reply
  • 8. Jacqueline  |  January 12, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    I was wondering if there might be news. Oh well, good things come to those who wait xx

    Reply
  • 9. Nip it in the bud  |  January 13, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    Bilbo – I think I enjoyed it more cold for breakfast the next day (or perhaps it was just that as a pudding I took a mouthful too far after a filling dinner?)

    Ruth – if I was up to getting in the car I’d be down the shops in a shot to buy another one, so yummy x

    Alison – yep no sign yet of this little bun crawling out of the oven yet

    Lynne – oooh I bet B&B pudding is lovely with marmalade (that was the beauty of the pannetone – it had an orangey hint to it from the dried fruit). Ooh you’re making me hungry all over again and I’ve just eaten lunch!

    Dad – well we’ve done quite well and still have a good half a dozen left. So come on baby you’ve got 3 days!

    Nina – simply delish

    Jac – yep, still waiting and eating flapjacks!

    Reply
  • 10. Johanna GGG  |  January 14, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    love bread and butter pud – esp with pannetone (old pannetone is also great for summer pudding but probably not in your winter)

    good luck with Baby – you must be well ready by now – hope it isn’t too many flapjacks away

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,336 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

