wonderful weeds

June 9, 2012 at 8:56 pm 4 comments

”Where’s the weed killer?”  might be the first thought of a newcomer to a plot like ours but I’m rather fond of the poppies that seed themselves across the allotment each year.  I found it very cheering today to see them gently  blowing in the wind and know that whatever happens (or doesn’t) on our patch this year, the poppies will be back next year to herald a new growing season.   They’re actually doing a lovely job of stopping other weeds taking hold and providing ample ground cover to keep the soil moister than it would be if I was on top of my weeding.  So for now they can stay and when I have something ready to plant they have shallow roots making them a breeze to pull up.
Some say ‘A weed is a plant growing in the wrong place’ but I say a plant growing in an unexpected place is a delightful surprise.  Like these sweet peas that have sprung up at the base of the hawthorn tree George cut down last month.  They’re being choked by nettles and grass but even if I could reach them there’s no way this particular ‘weed’ would be pulled out!

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

plot taming … oh my word! this years sowings … so far

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Missus Tribble  |  June 10, 2012 at 11:25 am

    My garden borders are full of beautiful purple poppies this year!

    I’m a huge fan of wild flowers. I *want* bees, butterflies and Ladybirds in my garden, please and thank you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Misky  |  June 11, 2012 at 10:53 am

    I always broadcast poppy and columbine (Aquilegia ) and cornflower seeds in our garden. Deadhead, dry and broadcast, is my mantra! It’s a pretty contrast to the more formal roses and shrubs.

    Lovely photos, too!

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  June 15, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    Missus Tribble – lucky you, there have been some beautiful purple multiheaded poppies on the plot in previous years but not seen any this year (I saved some seed though so perhaps I’ll have to do a bit of guerilla sowing next year). And bees do love purples so much don’t they

    Misky – our cornflower bed last year was a triumph of colour but I have to say it took more weed management than the vegetables did! We’re enjoying the re-emergence of some of the orange californian poppies in spite of the fact the seed packet said they were annuals. I bet yours lucky lovely blended in with your roses.

    Reply
  • 4. ediblethings  |  June 29, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    Those poppy seeds that you don’t broadcast next year will be delicious in cakes and bread too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,681 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

