a review … Baker Days letterbox cakes

August 10, 2012 at 8:18 pm 3 comments

”… if this is something you’d be interested in let me know and I’ll get a cake sent to you” ended the email asking if I’d like to review a Baker Days letterbox cake.  I didn’t need to think that one over being a nocturnal cake muncher for the first several weeks of E’s life (fruit cake generously provided by my dear friend Sylvia, mum-of-4 -extraordinaire who manages to find time to bake most days!).  I suggested surprising me with a ‘new baby’ cake since my post-natally challenged brain was already hurting at the thought of choosing from over 300 designs and 6 different cake recipes*.  Soon after this lovely little cake arrived through my letterbox…

Perfect to mark any and all occasions the cakes come packaged in a lovely ‘just for you’ tin, with candles and balloons (pictured here to show the size of the actual cake).  I must admit it seemed a little small on first sight but what did I expect if it were to fit through my letterbox?  I think perhaps the website’s description of serving 4-5 people had me imaging cafe size portions but most people I know would happily devour a third of the cake each (it’s quite slender at 2.5cm deep so you want a bit of width to your slice!).  Once I sampled the cake, a delicious not-at-all-dry madeira sponge with vanilla cream beneath the not-too-sickly-sweet icing, I did pretty much eat most of it myself – not all in one sitting though I might add!

You can choose to personalise one of the Baker Days designs or upload your own photo to really make it special.  The design of our sample cake was sweet but I felt the quality of the print suffered just a little for being so ink heavy so if I were to choose a design or photo I would go for one with a white background like this one.  

Letterbox cakes are such a fab idea and as a new mum I would have been thrilled to receive such a scrummy gift (receiving pressies for baby is all well and good, and greatly appreciated, but who’s most deserving of edible gifts?).  I’d definitely recommend a ‘for mum’ cake option and make sure the label states ”serves 1” to be sure there’s no expectation to share!
* cake recipes to choose from:  madeira, carrot, lemon, fruit, Double chocolate and a wheat & gluten free option

Entry filed under: reviews.

where did my allotment go… ‘Bee Guardian’ award for Gloucester City

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. peggy  |  August 11, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    HiNic, looks like a great idea, I’ve never seen such a small cake but …small is beautiful!

    Reply
  • 2. Everlovin' Dad  |  August 11, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Does look good , Nic. shows you can have your cake and eat it,
    and can easily be varied.

    Reply
  • 3. Miss M  |  August 11, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    Neat idea but wouldn’t work here. I have no letter box ! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,706 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

