um, what lawn?

August 31, 2012 at 8:55 pm 6 comments

The story of our poor neglected plot is old news now but when my niece Kim, who’s over from Germany, asked if she could make her annual visit to the allotment I could hardly refuse.  I warned her that there’d be next to nothing to pick and that a little lawn care might be needed if she actually wanted to sit down!
”yeh, no problem” she shrugged non-chalantly before adding with a broad smile
”I know, I’ll look after Euan while you do the work!”
.
As Kim stepped from the car she stared open mouthed.  ”Are you crazy Aunty Nic?”
‘What?” I asked innocently, ”I’ll just get my shears out and we’ll have our lovely little patch of lawn back before you know it”.
Kim sighed,  ”you really are crazy? I think I’ll just sit here on the chair”.

And so she did and entertained E while I sheared rapidly around them, like the crazy Aunty I am, in a vain attempt to out run the rain cloud coming our way.  It didn’t work and within minutes we were running back to the car for shelter.  Not before I insisted on snapping them sitting on my naff, prickly patch of lawn and dashing about to harvest a meagre 4 runner beans and 18 raspberries! 

It was a rather sad and sorry harvest so no photographic evidence for you to mock (you wouldn’t would you dear reader?)  Instead here’s a reposting of last year’s rather fine harvest gathered by Tom and Kim while George prepared a BBQ for us to enjoy in our once-lovely little picnic area. 

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

‘Bee Guardian’ award for Gloucester City when there’s one too many courgettes

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Everlovin' Dad  |  September 1, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Worry not Nic, this time next year they might be able to handle
    a fork and spade.

    Reply
  • 2. Janet/Plantaliscious  |  September 3, 2012 at 9:35 am

    I think you need to remember that you have embarked on a new adventure this year with the arrival of your lovely son, so the fact that the plot is a tad over grown (though very pretty with all those flowers!) is rather inconsequential! Besides, Kim looks very happy, so who cares about the length of the grass!

    Reply
  • 3. Nip it in the bud  |  September 3, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Dad – … and E will be wielding a trowel and eating mud I suspect!

    Janet – couldn’t have put it better myself – just a fine excuse for sharing pics of my lovely family :o)

    Reply
  • 4. Aunty Bilbo  |  September 4, 2012 at 8:00 am

    Suppose thinking of it as a green manure wouldn’t help . . . . .

    Reply
  • 5. peggy  |  September 16, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Look on it as ‘resting’ your plot this year ready to give you bumper crops next year! Euan is growing into a beautiful lille lad.

    Reply
    • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  September 19, 2012 at 7:09 pm

      I like your way of thinking Peggy and couldn’t agree more with your description of our sweet boy :o)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 439,769 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

