allotment folk … Bernadette

October 2, 2012 at 1:58 pm 5 comments

Since I began blogging in June 2009 various allotment neighbours have found their way on to my blog in tales of warm hearted generosity (plant donations and biscuit sharing to name but a few).  Sorting through my photos recently I rediscovered these great pictures of Bernadette who has the very first plot you come to when you walk onto the allotment.  I’ve been lucky enough to see Bernadette on the handful of occasions I’ve made it to the plot since having E and I miss her cheery smile and encouragement now gardening is on the back burner. 

happy as a pig in muck (her words not mine) taking delivery of a ton of manure.

Entry filed under: allotment tales.

wordless wednesday the days grow cold

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emmalene  |  October 4, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    Just recently found your blog when trawling t’internet for a recipe for damson jam. I found yours from 2009…and very, very nice it is too. Wanted to say ‘thanks’ for the inspiration of making it with orange juice- just brilliant! x

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  October 5, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Hi Emmalene, thanking for popping back to leave your kind comments. I can’t take the credit for the orange inspiration – some of the best recipes are in the oldest book on your shelf! If you find yourself with any damsons to spare the Delia’s Spiced Damson chutney recipe is rather special too. cheerio, N x

      Reply
  • 3. Emmalene  |  October 7, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Thanks for the reply 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Hamilton Courtney  |  October 10, 2012 at 12:11 am

    Bernadette looks like a right laugh!! I’d love an allotment for the sake of community and making new friends but I can’t really justify it when I have a vegetable patch at home

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  October 10, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    you’re spot on there Hamilton – B is fab and our allotment provides a sense of community that is lacking in our neighbourhood. Wouldn’t hurt to put your name on a waiting list – you’d probably reach the top of it just at a time when you were thinking ‘I wish I had an allotment’. You can’t beat the friendliness of gardeners and the wide open space and fresh air is just the best. Happy growing in your home patch

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 441,702 hits

Archives

Instagram

#onefromthearchives in the days when I had time to experiment with preserve recipes and create edible gifts
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #chutneyaddict #allotmentgardening #foragersdelight #preservemaking So totally stoked to receive my #thisisbritainphotobook this morning.  My gut feeling was right - bedtime stories with our Lumie bed bug was the photo chosen by #rankin for inclusion.  Overjoyed to see my beautiful boys in print
#photographybook #photobox #lumiebedbug @lumie.lights 
#proudmumma #newblogpost 5 ways with . . . a ton of rhubarb.  Many thanks to @choclette8 for sharing two of her recipes so I could finally complete this post! 
#nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #rhubarb #preservemaking #greentomatochutney #chutneyaddict #rhubarbwine #rhubarbicecream A first birthday fruit stack tower #nipitinthebudblog #gloucesterlife #duplo #firstbirthdaysugarfree I was reminded of these ridiculous German Hilds Blue radishes I grew once when @happyacrefarm posted their giant spud picture today.  I say grew but I actually just forgot about them and they did this all by themselves! 
#nipitinthebudblog #growinggiantveg #oversizedvegetables #gloucesterlife
A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

