making a wild stripes baby blanket

January 13, 2013 at 12:17 pm 5 comments

Day 9 - first car trip to Stroud 4BChoosing this photo of E in his stripey blanket for my 2012 in pictures post reminded me that I am long overdue sharing the making of my ‘Wild Stripes baby blanket’. I first added the pattern link to my ‘Crafty‘ page as a work in progress when it it was already two years in the making!  Started when a friend announced her pregnancy and I needed something to switch off from work stress, I admitted defeat when my friend’s baby turned 2 and I was still only half way through.  I think deep down I’d always hoped I’d be knitting something for my own baby so I had no guilt at all when being pregnant with E spurred me into action. I finished it long before his arrival and when we found ourselves in hospital for a week and making daily trips to SCBU for E to have his antibiotics it bought much cheer to all of us.wildstripesBEAUTY-1

This is Kristen’s Wild Stripes blanket and pattern.  My work stressed brain found it a bit taxing try to colour co-ordinate my yarns as per the pattern so having bought a wonderful rainbow array of similar acrylic yarns I simply altered colour and line width as the mood took me.  I tried adding french knots as Kristin had but found they just looked like spidery mistakes so settled for the beautiful simplicity of my irregular stripes.  I was rather pleased with how it turned out and E is sleeping peacefully under his blanket of warmth and colour as I type.13-1-13 - E sleeping under smiley stripes blanket 4B
© Wild Stripes baby blanket on chair picture – Kristin Goedert

Entry filed under: being creative.

2012 in pictures making baby-friendly muffins and cakes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacqueline  |  January 13, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    It’s beautiful as is the cute one x

    Reply
  • 2. lynnep  |  January 14, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    I love it. We have a new grandson, and I may have to make one. Love the bobbles! Happy New Year Nic – I’ve revved up my blog again and am finishing the Alphabet theme at last lol! xx

    http://towardsthegoodlife.blogspot.co.uk/

    Reply
  • 3. Everlovin' Dad  |  January 14, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    Interesting to read your yarns about yarns and looking forward to seeing your very own bouncing wolly jumper for his first birthday.

    Reply
  • 4. plot52  |  January 15, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    very nice blanket and good for keeping warm at the allotment! although at the moment he might need a few more.

    Reply
  • 5. nic@nipitinthebud.co.uk  |  January 20, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Jac – I couldn’t agree more {wink}

    Lynne – nothing simpler than a few stocking stitch stripes! Enjoy time spent with your grandson and congratulations on finishing your alphabet

    Dad – great weekend celebrating birthdays with you x

    Greg – I’ll say, can’t imagine what state the allotment is. E is on the cusp of walking so come Spring we’ll have a toddler who can help out a bit (once we’ve attacked all the nettles and brambles that will have sprung up in our absence!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 424,827 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

