making pineapple upside down cake

August 20, 2014 at 9:46 pm 6 comments

Pineapple upside down cake 4BWe grew up having puddings after every meal and pineapple upside down cake was one of my favourites on a Sunday. I’ve not eaten it in decades and never made it myself so when I decided to take a trip down memory lane I turned to my Ministry of Food: thrifty wartime ways to feed your family cookbook for an authentic recipe. I used tinned pineapple as that’s what my Mum always used and I thought fresh pineapple would be too thick and chunky for the base of my cake.  Not so it seems having now tried the Oxo Good Grips pineapple slicer  which produces perfectly lovely slender rings.
Pineapple slices 4BE thought it was great fun twisting the ratcheting handle to quickly and easily cut through the pineapple.  Between the 3 of us we polished off a whole pineapple in one sitting so perhaps we’ll have to get two pineapples in when the time comes to make another cake! The slicer is certainly a great gadget to have in to make eating your 5 a day more fun.
E using pineapple corer 2 4B

To make Jane Fearnley-Whittingstall’s wartime pineapple upside-down cake

2 tbsp brown sugar
100g butter (plus extra for greasing)
425g tinned pineapple rings (or fresh equivalent)
125g self-raising flour
100g sugar
1 egg
100ml milk

  • Pre-heat oven to 180c/350F/gas mark 4 and grease an 18cm/7in cake tin
  • In a saucepan melt the brown sugar, half the butter and 3 tbsp juice from the pineapple.  Boil the mixture until it becomes a thick golden syrup.  Pour over the base of the cake tin.
  • Arrange the pineapple rings on the syrup in two layers, cutting if necessary to cover the base (my helper ate half my tin!)
  • Sift the flour and mix it with the sugar.  Melt the remaining butter and beat it into the flour with the egg and the milk.  Beat until smooth but don’t over mix the batter.  Pour over the pineapple and bake for about 40 minutes.
  • Turn it out onto a plate and servePineapple upside down cake 1 4B
    Disclosure: I was sent the Oxo pineapple slice to review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions are my own.
Entry filed under: in the kitchen, reviews.

wordless wednesday wordless wednesday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynnep  |  August 21, 2014 at 9:25 am

    I first made this at school in the late 60s, where we put a glace cherry in the centre of each ring for colour, then later for my family, and it was always popular. I thought recently I should make it again, but couldn’t now bear the sickly sweet tinned pineapple! I would definitely use fresh and I have had the gadget for years from Lakeland. We use it loads and it makes a tedious task really quick and easy.

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  August 21, 2014 at 1:12 pm

      Yes Lynne that’s how we used to have it to. Mum always left one out of my ring as I’d only pick it out hence not using glace cherries now I have a choice about it! Her tin must have been much bigger though to fit 5 rings in :0) glad this post conjured up some good memories for you x

      Reply
  • 3. Denise  |  August 21, 2014 at 12:53 pm

    Am fancying a cup of tea now……..and a piece of cake. Needless to say we have none in…but I am still fancying some. Dilema!

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  August 21, 2014 at 1:10 pm

      Time to warm the oven up and get your mixing bowl out? If you haven’t got butter in there are some great recipes that use sunflower oil instead

      Reply
      • 5. lynnep  |  August 21, 2014 at 3:01 pm

        Ditto re needing cake! Then I found two pieces of Greek honey cake in the freezer – Yey! I regularly freeze a few slices of cake for this reason. 😊

      • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  August 21, 2014 at 3:02 pm

        Genius!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 420,556 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

