the product of life’s longing for itself

September 25, 2014 at 9:46 pm 2 comments

E Aug 2014 4B
Your children are not your children.
They are the product of life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not for you.
Watch them. Enjoy them.
But find your own passion.

(by Kahil Gibran)

For so many years that verse was special to me for the hope it inspired: with a longing so deep how could I not have a child of my own one day? Now as the Mum of a toddler I’m starting to realise the true meaning of it as I begin to gain snatches of time to myself when E’s with other people. Today was his first session at playgroup on his own and as he nonchalantly waved me off I admit I was proud and disappointed all at the same time! I’ll have to work better at finding my passion for next week to make the best of my free time – tidying the bedroom is certainly not it, much as it was needed!
E first playgroup session on his own

Entry filed under: home life.

sampling Cawston Press juices wordless wednesday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cariemay  |  September 26, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Oh that first picture is just brilliant – you have to frame it or at the very least save it for bribery and corruption purposes during the teenage years!

    Reply
  • 2. toodlepips  |  September 29, 2014 at 6:33 am

    Cleaning and sorting is still my number one job when I get time to myself! I do try to make one cake/fun thing a week in the kitchen though. Enjoy discovering your other passion x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 436,440 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

