wonderful walnuts

October 18, 2014 at 7:40 pm 2 comments

walnuts on path 4B
A friends’ garden, a foragers delight, strewn with walnuts from next doors’ tree.
walnuts 4B
I find fresh walnuts to be less bitter, softer and have a slightly different taste to shop bought walnuts. Perhaps that’s because I’m cracking and eating them as I go rather than taking the time to cure, crack, soak and store my single carrier bag full of walnuts.
walnuts shelled 4B
I’d like to say I did something amazing with them but dropping a handful of walnuts into my muesli has been the extent of my creativity!

Entry filed under: home life. Tags: .

barefoot adventures in Baby Bogs of puppets and pandas

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynnep  |  October 19, 2014 at 10:36 am

    Ooh, lucky you! That’s inspired me to ask on Freegle and see if anyone has any spare. How do you preserve them, Nic?

    Reply
  • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  October 19, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    Hi Lynne, good to hear from you. If you click on the cure, crack, store link there’s a step by step guide from Laurie about preserving them. To be honest I don’t have enough to do anything more than dry them out on a tray so they don’t go mouldy and crack them as I eat them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 412,876 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

