swim like a fish

October 24, 2014 at 8:18 am 3 comments

9-10-14_e with swimfin framedWednesday is pool day for me and E and it’s becoming the highlight of my week.  I love seeing him splash and giggle and grow in confidence and I love the huggy, nurturing closeness of time spent together in the water after two days at work.  E’s become a confident jumper off the side and slide diver at our local pool. Now he’s nearer 3 than 2 and becoming independent in all things I wracked my brains for how to help him to learn to swim without forcing it or feeling like he was putting too much of his confidence in me supporting him (like many a fearless toddler presuming Mummy will always save the day).  So how to help him float as he learned to swim while not risking any water gulping sinking panics?
SwimFin high res logo
After a spot of googling I came across SwimFin, a teaching aid, floatation device and fun water toy all in one.  Created by Kevin Moseley, a swimming instructor with over 30 years experience, it’s unique, self-adjusting design is suitable for all ages, from toddlers taking to the water for the first time to advanced swimmers who want to develop stroke technique.
Swimfins
For E it’s just what I wanted as it leaves his arms completely free to move for any swim stroke, including back stroke.  The fin is worn high up on his back, secured with velcro straps, and suspends him in the water without tipping him forward.  He’s used to me supporting him under his tummy when he kicks and splashes and it was great to feel the difference in his weight when wearing the SwimFin compared to when he’s not wearing it.  He wasn’t very keen to doggy paddle which is actually when SwimFin provides the most support for a beginner because it’s almost fully submerged.  For a first try though I was just impressed he kept his fin on for the whole of our time in the pool.  I think all the admiring glances helped, responded to with ”look at me, I’m not a boy I’m a shark”

Swimfin au_back stroke
Learning to swim is a life skill we’re keen for E to have and SwimFin  makes it simpler, easier and more fun.  I would have loved to have pictures of our own little fish in action but you can’t take pictures at our local pool.  Roll on next summer for taking SwimFin to the beach!  If you’d love a SwimFin too it’s available in 7 different colours priced £21.99.  It’s a great investment because it continues to be fun and useful after your child has mastered swimming on their own and can be used by the whole family (larger straps are available for bigger kids). And unlike our noodle or the floats at the pool there will be no teeth marks in it or signs of wear for many swims to come!Swimfins in action
Disclosure:  I approached SwimFin about writing a review and they kindly sent me a sample.  I was not required to write a positive view and all opinions expressed are my own.  (pool pictures used courtesy of the SwimFin gallery)

Entry filed under: reviews. Tags: .

wordless wednesday wordless wednesday

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynnep  |  October 24, 2014 at 11:02 am

    Wow, I wish I’d had those when my children were learning! Learning to swim is vital in my opinion, for safety as well as fun, and both mine did council swimming lessons right up to the gold badge and the mile distance, as I reckon if you get in trouble in the water you have the best chance of surviving.

    Reply
  • 2. Sue  |  November 4, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Love this!! If my memory allows – I’ll be looking this up and investigating in the morning. Sounds fab!! (Nic – remind me about this product please if I forget!!) xxx

    Reply
  • 3. Ali  |  November 4, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    Isaac has had one for about 18 months and it is great. We take it on holiday and people are always commenting on it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 412,876 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

