lordy, lordy, look who’s 40!

February 5, 2015 at 4:35 pm 9 comments

28-1-15 - E and Mummy at Nanas park 4B
That would be me then! It’s pretty great so far.

I’m pleased to say with age comes the ability to let people be kind and generous with their birthday wishes and gift giving! I turned cartwheels (cough, metaphorically not literally) when I opened the new camera G bought me with money earned from selling his drums. Once upon a time I would have insisted ”you shouldn’t have’‘ and felt a burden of guilt and responsibility at receiving such a generous gift).

I think this could be my best birthday yet. E sang Happy Birthday and helped to open all my cards and presents (not before suggesting Jingle Bells was the song to sing people on their special day). I may not change much from year to year but E certainly does – recalling past birthdays with him is a nice measure of how our little guy is growing up. Life doesn’t get better than this.
Collage - E on my birthdays 4B
L to R: 16 days old, 1 yr 14 days old, 2 yrs 16 days old

Entry filed under: home life. Tags: .

a third birthday party Gloucester Scrapstore

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shaheen  |  February 6, 2015 at 6:40 am

    Belated birthday wishes to you Nic and a soft kiss on the forehead of your little one and Happiness to you all including E, coming to your blog always makes me more appreciative of life and the little things we have x

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  February 6, 2015 at 7:51 am

      What a smile you have put on my face shaheen, thank you for sharing such lovely thoughts x

      Reply
  • 3. Merci  |  February 6, 2015 at 9:43 am

    Lovely! xx

    Reply
  • 4. Lynne Poulson  |  February 6, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    Happy Birthday, Nic! Glad you didn’t freak out like I did when I reached 40 – gosh, that was nearly 23 years ago!! 😊

    Reply
  • 5. Choclette  |  February 6, 2015 at 4:57 pm

    Oh my goodness, I can’t believe your son is so big – it’s obviously far too long since I visited your blog. 40 is fun, enjoy it.

    Reply
  • 6. Jayne Hill  |  February 10, 2015 at 7:44 am

    Oh bummocks – I didn’t realise it was your 40th or I would have done much more than just send you a silly email. Grrrrr.

    Hope your weekend away was a good one :} xxxx

    Reply
  • 7. Nip it in the bud  |  February 14, 2015 at 11:11 am

    Lynne – carrying a baby certainly changes how you feel about your looks/body/age so yes quite accepting of the inevitable! Each new birthday is the best yet hopefully :o) Time for a Beatles song for you then?

    Choclette – it’s certainly proving to be fun so far! Sigh the days of browsing blogs is long forgotten and I barely dare to look at yours with all it’s tempting chocolate loveliness!

    Jayne – it’s the thought that counts, I love my silly emails! Weekend was fab thanks x

    Reply
  • 8. smile | Nip it in the bud  |  February 22, 2015 at 10:33 pm

    […] best thing about turning 40 has been the gift of a new camera from G. E’s very comfortable with a lens pointed at him as […]

    Reply
  • 9. bimbling about at Broad Haven South | Nip it in the bud  |  March 16, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    […] was no better excuse for a break away last month than a special birthday to celebrate.  Add in a beach, my gorgeous boys and a new camera and these lovely memories of a terrific time […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 412,876 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

