the perfect cake decorating kit

March 8, 2015 at 9:51 pm 1 comment

E’s birthday last month offered the perfect opportunity for a spot of cake decorating (an entirely annual event these days). Once we’d decided on a sticky chocolate Wonka bar cake however it became apparent the new cake decorating kit I’d intended to write on the birthday cake with would need to be used in some other way.  We mixed up some blue icing and had a trial run writing on oat biscuits instead.
E was in licking heaven especially nomming at least three silver balls for every one that made it to the top of the biscuits!Collage icing biscuits
I turned to Pinterest for inspiration and found all sorts of fab ideas to go with our jungle themed party food. It turns out icing biscuits is not as easy as it looks!  Having well designed tools is all well and good but it can’t compensate for a lack of creative flair, runny icing and the potential splodgy and unrecognisable result.

I hoped to make something like these iced-to-perfection biscuits available on Etsy. Iced biscuits on Etsy 4B
What I ended up making after a few unrecognisable attempts at a lion were these snail biscuits.  Much loved by the kids and beautifully simple to decorate a whole packet of rich tea biscuits once I got into my groove with this OXO Good Grips Bakers 8 piece silicone decorating bottle kit 18-1-15 - food_snail biscuits close up 4B
Although I wasn’t hugely creative with my first attempt (I like to think that will come with practice) it was so easy to use.  Simple to fill thanks to the large opening which holds up to 120ml of icing and the kit includes two squeezy bottles so you could have one filled with a slightly thicker outlining icing and one with a thinner colouring in icing (or two different colours).  The soft silicone bottle is designed for consistent, controlled decorating and fits so comfortably in your hand it feels just like you’re writing with a fat pen!  The bottles are a breeze to clean as they turn inside out for washing and all parts including the 6 stainless steel tips are dishwasher safe. cake decorating designs
Our latest product trial certainly lives up to the high standard we’ve come to expect from the Oxo Good Grips range. I was amazed really having only used pre-filled icing tubes before where I’ve either ended up with blobby ends to my letters or missing middles.  It’ll be fun practicing again and we’ll look forward to creating some interesting toppings like these for cup cakes. I hope to have mastered using my new camera by then too for better indoor shots during my early morning kitchen sessions with my little helper!
Cake decorating set with cakes
Disclaimer: I was sent this Oxo Good Grips decorating kit. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.

Entry filed under: reviews. Tags: .

smile bimbling about at Broad Haven South

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Everloving Dad  |  March 9, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    Brings a whole new meaning to the “Little Chef”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 412,876 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs