telling tall tales

September 16, 2017 at 10:45 am 4 comments

E loves nothing better than to role play and weave stories. Since starting school and developing his writing skills he’s started to experiment with creative writing. He wrote this epic story entitled “Euan’s tall tales” for his best friend back in March and it’s been sitting forgotten in my drafts folder just waiting for it’s debut!

To Iri

I hope you get crazy by these years on these days and also on Sunday I bounced on a trampoline and I hurt myself and I got off the grass and I didn’t know where I was.
I found that I was in a desert with lots of cactuses but they weren’t just normal ones they were electric! When I touched them they electricked me!

the end

Footnote from E:  ‘‘don’t worry this didn’t really happen, it’s a tall tale!!!”

Entry filed under: creative kids, home life. Tags: , , .

truly brave the best part of education

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. talespinnerwordweaver  |  September 16, 2017 at 11:25 am

    How sweet of him to reassure his friend. Clearly this little boy is on the road to growing up to be a compassionate, thoughtful and caring young man alongside his creativity.
    I do hope that you’ll keep a record of his early writing for him, I write now at 60 and it saddens me that there is no record of my work before I was 40. Yet I have told stories since I could talk and written/illustrated since I learnt how to write.

    Reply
    • 2. Nip it in the bud  |  September 20, 2017 at 12:42 pm

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this post. You’ve summed E up beautifully, almost as if you’ve met him and enjoyed his lovely company. I hope that this blog is somewhere the boys come in future to find memories of their childhood and a little something of what sort of person I am other than being their Mum. (I do have a scrap book for pictures and E likes to make little books which I squirrel away in my memory box :o)

      Reply
  • 3. talespinnerwordweaver  |  September 20, 2017 at 4:54 pm

    Thank you for your comments 🙂 Because of the way you write about both E and L and the beautiful photographs it feels as though your readers do in fact know your sons. I follow their progress as I follow the progress of my Grandchildren, Great Granddaughter and my adorable Goddaughter who arrived on my 60th birthday.
    There’s a saying I have long believed in `in takes 2 people to make a baby, it takes a village to raise a child.’ in your sharing what you do of the boy’s you are giving them a network of people, who though never met are caring about them and wishing them well.
    So glad you have memory boxes for them, my Grandchildren loved exploring their parents boxes when they were younger.

    Reply
    • 4. Nip it in the bud  |  September 20, 2017 at 4:59 pm

      I went a bit goose pimply and watery eyed reading your beautiful response. So many times I’ve weighed up the time I spend writing versus the merit of sharing to what can seem like an empty audience. To have just one reader like you warms my heart and gives me a little glow of pleasure (having concluded finally that I write because its in me to share stories and create a record for my boys). With heartfelt thanks for sharing our journey x
      (how special that your birthday is also your Goddaughters x)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 439,912 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

