Cedric’s damson jam and marrow cream

Cedric's jam and creamAll is quiet on the blog front as we’re in Germany looking after our nephew and niece.  ‘As twilight drops it’s curtain down’ all teeth are brushed, stories read and the adventures of today the stuff of dreams now for Tom and Kim. While George is curled up with a book I couldn’t resist logging on to quickly check my emails (famous last words I know!).  And now I can’t resist posting the two recipes I’ve received from Cedric, a good friend of Pat and Robin’s, who sometimes joins us for tea on a Saturday morning.   I was expecting Cedric’s first recipe for damson jam because the fruit was picked from the tree on our plot at the weekend but the second recipe for Marrow Cream was a delightful surprise and has moved to the top of my try-this-out list when I get home.  Cedric describes marrow cream as ideal for giant courgettes you don’t know what do with and I certainly have one or two or ten of those.  I guess you could say this is my first guest post so thanks to Ced for sharing the details below and the picture above.Cedric damsons picked

To make damson Jam
4lbs damsons + 4lbs sugar +4 tbsp vinegar (raspberry wine vinegar used here)

– Stone the fruit and weigh afterwards (I know, it’s a pain; use your thumbs)
– Put all in a pan and bring to the boil.  Simmer for 20 mins and fast boil for 10.
– Don’t leave it, stir constantly!  I often leave overnight to make sure it sets (if it hasn’t re-boil it for another 5 mins).  If it’s set ok just heat it up to jar it.Cedric picking damsons

To make marrow cream
2lbs marrow + 2lbs sugar + 1/4lb butter + 2 lemons

– Peel and core the marrow, weigh out and then boil the cut up flesh with a dash of water until it is soft.
– Strain well and beat to a pulp or blitz in a blender.
– Put into a pan with the sugar, butter, zest and juice of the lemons.
– Boil slowly for 45 mins then jar it and use as a spread or filling for tarts etc

8/9/09 UPDATE:  I’ve made marrow cream myself now and found using half the sugar plenty sweet enough.

21/9/09 UPDATE – creaming my monster marrow I used about 1/5 of the sugar

11 comments

  1. Both of Cedrics recipes sound intresting, I am rather curious about the marrow cream, but unfortunately won’t be able to try it out this year, as I am pretty much all out of courgettes. Maybe next year.

    I hope your having a fun time with the kids in Germany.

    • Hi Rufus, I haven’t made it yet so Cedric is the only one who can answer that at the mo. My guess is that it will have the texture and taste (thought less citrusy) of a lemon curd.
      mc – having a lovely time thank you – glorious weather and lots of playing

  2. thanks Scarlett, I’m making it as we speak :o) can’t believe one collossal courgette has shrunk down so much – a good excuse to make more and I’m eyeing my hundreds of pumpkins curiously …

  3. I’m gonna give Cedric’s Marrow cream a go this weekend. It sounds lovely and I have a marrow currently overtaking my garden.
    One addition though, I made a marrow preserve a few weeks back that had a chunk of finely grated root ginger in it, which gave it a bit of a kick. It was made with marrow and lemons so I’m guessing adding ginger to this recipe will work too!

    • your recipes sounds very similar bluegirl. Did it look the same too? I love ginger too and traditional ginger beer is on my list of things to make in the autumn when the harvest at the allotment has dried up.

  4. The main difference with the one i made was that you didn’t blend it at all so it has a chunks of very soft marrow and shreds of lemon rind in it. It sounds quite odd but it is actually really nice.
    Lovely on wholemeal toast for breakfast!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.