simple suppers – double baked spuds

I love cooking but life is too short for toiling over a hot stove after a busy day at work (or when the autumn sun is calling you out to play in the garden!)  Let your oven do the hard work and set the egg timer, kick off your shoes and settle down with your favourite book for half an hour to give the roasted veggies a head start.  Then come back and pop the potato skins* in for 10 mins (pop the grill on for the last few minutes if you prefer the tops to be a little more crunchy or if adding a sprinkling of melted cheese).

* the spuds have already been baked – how organised of me on a tired-after-work night!

what you need
1 leftover already baked potato
1 tin of tuna
1 egg (optional if using cheese)
a sprinkle of herbs
(optional) grated cheese topping (I didn’t use any)
courgettes and peppers to roast  (or any other veg that takes your fancy – such as these)

Scoop out the flesh of your pre-baked potato. Mash and mix in a bowl with the tuna, egg and herbs.  Spoon back into the potato shells and bake. Simple!

8 comments

  1. i love tasty suppers like this which don’t get in the way of all the other things we have to do!

    This sounds quite delicious and I think it would appeal to Management too.

  2. I adore roasted veg! I’m not sure I could roast most of the veg I seem to be eating here in Brunei… pak choy, etc, but I will look forward to doing so when I’m back in the UK.

  3. Gorgeous idea. I often deliberately cook too many jacket potatoes (like to get the most out of the energy being used!) but i always cut them up and dry them. This sounds delicious and far more satisfying – thanks for the inspiration!

  4. A nice, quick meal Nic, you were very organised! Pity work has to get in the way of ‘real’ life.

    That tortoise looks so real, it’s amazing.

    Love the cupcakes your niece helped make!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.