gardening with kids – sunny Saturday mornings on the plot

We made our Saturday morning visit to the allotment yesterday. The day before I’d received a text from Dave to say our runner beans were coming up so we were excited to go and check their progress and see how the rest of our seeds were doing.

brothers at the allotment
I love how random and unexpected nature is. Out of 15 runner beans planted 2 weeks ago a handful have surfaced but most are still hibernating. Our first sowings 4 weeks ago are showing varying signs of progress – the lettuces are coming along beautifully but there’s no sign of watercress, carrots or kohl rabi yet. I had it in mind that carrots took 3-4 weeks to germinate but when I checked the archives for the first carrots I ever grew it was more like 5 weeks before they appeared.  It’s always a bit of a guessing game as to whether they’re just slower growing from year to year or whether it’s a failed sowing. We’re at a wedding next weekend so if there’s no carrot life signs in 2 weeks time we’ll either sow another row or switch to dwarf beans which always germinate pleasingly quickly.
brothers working at the allotment
This week we arrived mid morning and Luca was awake and was actually quite helpful.  He still can’t grasp not walking across little plants but it was a chance we had to take.  Last week arriving at the plot with a sleeping toddler was useful but it was so much hotter arriving at lunchtime. George was working away and not available for a lift home so we knew we’d need to have enough power for the walk home. Luca spent a happy 10 minutes poking soil around with his trowel while E and I watered and planted shallots.
toddler weeding at the allotment
toddler running at the allotment
Dave gave us some Roma tomato plants the sweet scent of which fills me with such joy (it’s all down to my love of green tomato chutney and needing to grow my own for that).  Dave finds it amusing I think that I love growing tomatoes over and above all else!  As we’re not around next weekend I took a chance on bedding in the tomato plants rather than waiting for them to get bigger in their pots.  We’re so lucky that Dave takes care of our plot when we’re not there otherwise I doubt I’d take such a chance.

One of the most wonderful things about being part of an allotment community is leaving the plot with freshly picked produce even though your garden isn’t producing anything edible yet.  Dave gifted us asparagus, cabbage and lettuce and you probably don’t need me to tell you that it tasted better than any you’d buy in the shop.
freshly picked allotment grown asparagus
allotment grown lettuce

My favourite photo from our visit yesterday is this last one.  There’s something so wonderful about fresh, vibrant green vegetables – as beautiful as any flower to an allotment grower (if you’re thinking ”that’s a bit weird” don’t worry, my husband thinks so too!) 

I’m going to share our muddy rooted lettuce with Darren at Photalife as part of his #mysundayphoto link up.  It’s our first time joining in and there are some terrific pictures from other families if you find yourself with some browsing time on a lazy Sunday afternoon

Photalife

18 comments

  1. What a fantastic set of photos. Love the lettuce one. Even though we only have a small balcony (mostly taken up with a sandpit), I try and get Freya planting things and watching them grow. It just feels so important. #MySundayPhoto

    • Thank you Tara. Kids love anything that gets them mucky and are fascinated to see how things grow. Cress on a tissue was all I experienced growing up but still have fond memories of it ;o)

  2. Glorious photos, what a great thing for everyone to enjoy

    Have a good Sunday and thank you for linking up to #MySundayPhoto

  3. All that looks so amazing, I hope you get a brilliant crop. I’ve never tasted asparagus fresh from the ground….actually I’m not sure I’ve tasted much fresh from the ground!

    • Thank you. The first time I tried asparagus was from a jar in Germany and it was quite a different experience. Anything that’s freshly picked and been grown with love just tastes amazing.

  4. We are moving soon and will have our own garden after a very long time. Going to be following your blog closely for gardening tips, I need all the help I can get! 😀 #sundayphoto

    • All the best with the move Emma, it’ll be fab to have a garden. You can go for some quick wins like lettuce and rocket and still time for some beans and potatoes they’ll just come up a bit later than everyone else’s. Don’t bust a gut though, plan for next year and be sure you don’t kill the gardening love before it has a chance to grow because you try and do too much x

  5. looks like the kids really enjoyed themselves and i do agree the last photo of the lettuce looks lovely, however i wouldn’t be putting it in a vase

  6. Growing your own fruit and vegetable can be such a learning experience, but also really rewarding, so it’s great that you get the children so involved. Really beautiful photos shared also. #keepingitreal

  7. Hi Nic, I think it’s wonderful that you have some little helpers in the allotment. My two were never that interested in helping look after anything I tried growing. These days I have tomatoes (I agree, they are my favourites to grow too), cucumbers and a herb garden. The allotment community sounds so nice, sharing veggies is a perfect way of making sure nothing goes to waste… That lettuce does look a beautiful shade of green and I hope your carrots come up this week!

    Thank you for linking up with #keepingitreal.

    xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.