Five ways with a ton of … tomatoes

I recorded some allotment musings recently for BBC Radio Gloucestershire about growing vegetables with kids. I mentioned I have recipes on this blog, including several with a theme of ”5 ways with a ton of …’‘, for using up gluts of  produce. I said there were ideas for ”5 ways with a ton of …beetroot and tomatoes’‘ but as soon as the words were out of my mouth I realised I was wrong.  Beetroot yes, tomatoes no. I never did get round to finishing the draft I started in 2011.  So here it is, posted for listeners of BBC Radio Gloucestershire a decade later in 2021.

(click the recipe title to see the original posts)

Oven Roasted Tomatoes

Green tomato and rhubarb chutney

Green tomato and carrot soup

Quinoa Tabouleh

Tomato Tarte Tatin (from Olive Magazine)

If you enjoyed this roundup post you might find something to inspire here too ..

5 ways with .. a ton of apples

5 ways with .. a ton of beetroot

5 ways with .. a ton of carrots

5 ways with .. a ton of damsons

5 ways with .. a ton of rhubarb

2 comments

  1. My thing is Damsons. Last year, from my secret orchard.. I pick my Damsons. I put them in my jam pan, and make jam,, eating some right now on toast.
    I make over 30 pots, so remind me to bring you some Nic xx

    • ooh fab. I would love a jar of your jam Debs. Try it with orange and cinnamon, it really draws the flavour out with the damsons x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.