giraffe of the day

I received an email yesterday that made me smile from ear to ear.  ‘I loved your giraffe so much I blogged about it’ wrote Ola of One Million Giraffes, having named my sunflower giraffe as her 234th Giraffe of the Day.  Back in September when I uploaded my photo it joined 267,350 other giraffes and today the figure stands at 547,792.  If you’d like to help Ola reach 1,000,000 there’s just one simple rule:  you have to create your giraffe with your own hands (without using a computer).  If your creation features more than one giraffe it counts for as many giraffes as featured.  Like the addition of a baby giraffe making two.

I love the way this project has sparked people’s imaginations all across the world.  Will you be creating a giraffe that’s one in a million? 

Lili Tupili’s knitted giraffesFernanda’s cork giraffe faceGrobuonis’s toothpaste giraffe, Funky Lunch Man’s giraffe sandwich, , Sunni’s champagne top giraffe, Gunnar’s 13 foot snow giraffe, Ingvill’s honey giraffe, Bjorn’s matchstick giraffe

8 comments

  1. Jaime – it’s a very cheering sight, especially when you’re already a giraffe fan like me

    Mr P – glad it’s tickled your creative fancy. I’m sure you could cook up some giraffe-y delight

    Anita – and I just know K has a giraffe or ten up her sleeve

    MC – ain’t it just

  2. Alas, I could never come up with something that original. I remember your fabulous sunflower giraffe and sure love the other ones too. They are all so imaginative ! (Although the snow sculpture reminds me of Nessie :P).

  3. I love your sunflower giraffe and pleased to see it is getting some kudos – I would love to make a sandwich giraffe like that one in your pics – it is so cute – thanks for putting me onto this site

  4. Hi! Cool that you posted my champaraff on your blog!
    I just wanted to say that Ola is a boy and Giraffes rule!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.