giraffe of the day

January 31, 2010 at 5:43 pm 8 comments

I received an email yesterday that made me smile from ear to ear.  ‘I loved your giraffe so much I blogged about it’ wrote Ola of One Million Giraffes, having named my sunflower giraffe as her 234th Giraffe of the Day.  Back in September when I uploaded my photo it joined 267,350 other giraffes and today the figure stands at 547,792.  If you’d like to help Ola reach 1,000,000 there’s just one simple rule:  you have to create your giraffe with your own hands (without using a computer).  If your creation features more than one giraffe it counts for as many giraffes as featured.  Like the addition of a baby giraffe making two.

I love the way this project has sparked people’s imaginations all across the world.  Will you be creating a giraffe that’s one in a million? 

Lili Tupili’s knitted giraffesFernanda’s cork giraffe faceGrobuonis’s toothpaste giraffe, Funky Lunch Man’s giraffe sandwich, , Sunni’s champagne top giraffe, Gunnar’s 13 foot snow giraffe, Ingvill’s honey giraffe, Bjorn’s matchstick giraffe

Entry filed under: being creative. Tags: .

keeping bees in the city little blog awards

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaime  |  February 1, 2010 at 2:23 am

    Oh, wow! They’re all so awesome and creative! I love it.

    Reply
  • 2. Mr. P  |  February 1, 2010 at 11:51 am

    What a brilliant idea!

    I’m going to get me thinking…

    Reply
  • 3. Anita  |  February 1, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    LOVE this, thanks for sharing it x

    Reply
  • 4. mangocheeks  |  February 1, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Splendid and inspiring.

    Reply
  • 5. Nip it in the bud  |  February 2, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Jaime – it’s a very cheering sight, especially when you’re already a giraffe fan like me

    Mr P – glad it’s tickled your creative fancy. I’m sure you could cook up some giraffe-y delight

    Anita – and I just know K has a giraffe or ten up her sleeve

    MC – ain’t it just

    Reply
  • 6. miss m  |  February 3, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Alas, I could never come up with something that original. I remember your fabulous sunflower giraffe and sure love the other ones too. They are all so imaginative ! (Although the snow sculpture reminds me of Nessie :P).

    Reply
  • 7. Johanna GGG  |  February 4, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I love your sunflower giraffe and pleased to see it is getting some kudos – I would love to make a sandwich giraffe like that one in your pics – it is so cute – thanks for putting me onto this site

    Reply
  • 8. Sunni  |  March 28, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Hi! Cool that you posted my champaraff on your blog!
    I just wanted to say that Ola is a boy and Giraffes rule!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my mostly-about-gardening blog, with a dash of cooking and a smattering of cats.
I'd love to hear your comments and reply to all so don't be shy, come and say hello...

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!

Blog Stats

  • 303,436 hits
Tips and recipes to reduce food waste - Love Food Hate Waste

Flickr photos

Week 5 - personality_drinking bath water

Week 5 - personality_E with night light

Week 5 - personality_ice lolly

Week 5 - personality_playing with elderflowerheads

Week 4 - movement_E catching bubbles

Week 4 - movement_E eating chip

Week 4 - movement_E swimming with Daddy

Week 4 - movement_football on the beach

Week 3_day in the life mosaic_Glastonbury weekend*

Week 3 - family_E on the beach

More Photos
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

